Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

8,753 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Past Champions
2002 Guillermo Canas (ARG)
2001 Andrei Pavel (ROM)
2000 Marat Safin (RUS) *
1999 Thomas Johansson (SWE)
1998 Patrick Rafter (AUS) *
1997 Chris Woodruff (USA)
1996 Wayne Ferreira (RSA)
1995 Andre Agassi (USA)
1994 Andre Agassi (USA)*
1993 Mikael Pernfors (SWE)
1992 Andre Agassi (USA)
1991 Andrei Chesnokov (RUS)
1990 Michael Chang (USA)
1989 Ivan Lendl (USA)
1988 Ivan Lendl (USA)
1987 Ivan Lendl (USA)*
1986 Boris Becker (GER)
1985 John McEnroe (USA)
1984 John McEnroe (USA)*
1982 Vitas Gerulaitis (USA)
1981 Ivan Lendl (USA)
1980 Ivan Lendl (USA)
1979 Bjorn Borg (SWE)
1978 Eddie Dibbs (USA)
* Those who went on to win the US Open that year.

Guillermo Canas is not in the draw and won't be defending his title
Last repeat champion, Andre Agassi
Ivan Lendl won this title 5 times, more than anyone else
Americans have won this title more than any other country combined
Second place, Sweden with 3
Chance of winning the following US Open:25% (Based on those who went on to win the US Open from 1990)
Last champion to win the following US Open, Marat Safin
1 - 3 of 3 Posts