Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
6,037 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, figured I would have a bit of fun with this, and invite you guys on my journey into becoming a recreational tennis player.

Background...

My name is Zach Anderson, I'm 20 (not 23 like my account says:cool:), live in Northern California when I'm not at school at San Diego State University and have never played competitive tennis in my life. I did not play in high school as I played baseball at the same time tennis season was, and have literally never been given a tennis lesson in my life. I became a tennis fan in 2007 and have loved it since. I play with friends, and used to hit a couple times a week because it kept me in shape, and it was an individual sport, etc. Great fun. I'm not bad, completely self taught, and am entering my first USTA NTRP event tomorrow.

The event:
I self-rated on the USTA website at 2.5, very low, and decided screw it, I'm gonna take a shot at 3.5's. I am playing the Antelope Community Tennis USTA NorCal Grand Slam event this weekend in the 3.5 men's singles.

http://tennislink.usta.com/tournaments/TournamentHome/Tournament.aspx?T=148393

I play my first match tomorrow afternoon at 2pm against an opponent it looks like hasn't played much either. If I win, I play the #1 seed, lovely. If this goes well, I will continue to play events in SoCal while at school, as I'm excited about this opportunity to get involved with this. I will drop to 3.0s at events that hold singles at that rating level. For not, lets get this started. I'm happy to welcome advice, criticism, and invite all you guys to join this journey I'm beginning that should be a lot of fun. Any questions, comments, anything, fire away! Lets do this!

The draw is below!

http://tennislink.usta.com/tournaments/TournamentHome/Tournament.aspx?T=148393#&&s=7Draws3

·
Your visions will happen
47,112 Posts
Best of luck! Do work!

·
6,246 Posts