Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been visiting this site since 2010. Never thought of becoming a user until about the start of this years french open. When peak djokovic vs peak federer discussion(which are pointless and hypothetical) became the dominant topic. I wanted to be heard on this. I am not a fan of either and think the fanbase of federer shows double standards a lot. But what actually prompted me to join was flawed logic of djokovic fans.I will try to bring out some holes in their arguements in chronological order.
REMEMBER I AM TRYING TO FIND FLAWS IN THIER LOGIC NOT STATING FACTS.I AM NOT QUESTIONING DJOKOVICS ACHIEVEMNTS BUT ARGUEMENTS GIVEN IN HIS FAVOUR BY SOME FANS.
I will apply same statemens made for djokovic in federer'scase.Same counterarguments can be made against federer as well but let us see djokovic first.

1 According to some to say that federer was not in his peak after 2008 is criminally wrong.However while discussing djokovic's peak ,periods ranging from 2008 Ao(he had won a slam and was no longer baby novak) till 2011 AO and from 2012 AO till 2015 is not at all considered. This is period is aprrox 5-6 years of the time when (because of age) by default djokovic should have been at his best.
All of federer's shortcomings post 2008 are attributed to the rise of Novak,Murray and rafa.So why should we ignore the fact that djokovic lost so many matches during this period.If fedrerer's loss against berdych,tsonga and the top4 are brought up why shouldn't we remember that novak lost to hass,berdych tsonga roddick etc too?