Mens Tennis Forums banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20,212 Posts
At 5:4 in the tie-break Roddick served an ace but the referee said "net, first serve". Djokovic found this serve as a good one and gave Roddick point double setpoint.

Djokovic :worship: Great personality.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
244 Posts
That's why we have an umpire...if he calls a net you take it. You think your opponent will repay you in kind with a free point if you don't?
That doesn't matter. maybe we see sportmanship in different way. For me this is definition of sportmanship. You should never allow that someone steal well deserved point from your opponent. Aside from that, you should do everything you can to win. Even if it is 30 ball bounces before serve. Players are paid to be prepared for all kind of psychological games on court, and should not whine if someone like to bounce ball a lot before serve. But when you see umpire is wrong, you should always correct him, even if the umpire call is against you. Thats what sportmanship is all about. That would give us players that will fight with all they have to win, but not by stealing from their opponents.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,082 Posts
I was shocked he did it, I can't even call it 'pleasently surprised' - I just went "Huh?!"

I wonder if those two meet often for beer, Pitza and imitation contests of Rafa and Roger.
 
1 - 20 of 49 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top