HINDRANCE
If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point.
However, the point shall be replayed if a player is hindered in playing the
point by either an unintentional act of the opponent(s), or something outside
the player’s own control (not including a permanent fixture).
Case 1: Is an unintentional double hit a hindrance?
Decision: No. See also Rule 24 (e).
Case 2: A player claims to have stopped play because the player thought that the opponent(s)
was being hindered. Is this a hindrance?
Decision: No, the player loses the point.
Case 3: A ball in play hits a bird flying over the court. Is this a hindrance?
Decision: Yes, the point shall be replayed.
Case 4: During a point, a ball or other object that was lying on the player’s
side of the net when the point started hinders the player. Is this a hindrance?
Decision: No.
Case 5: In doubles, where are the server’s partner and receiver’s partner
allowed to stand?
Decision: The server’s partner and the receiver’s partner may take any position
on their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player
is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.
USTA Comment 26.1: What is the difference between a deliberate
and an unintentional act? Deliberate means a player did what the
player intended to do, even if the result was unintended. An example
is a player who advises the player’s partner in such a loud voice that
their opponents are hindered. Unintentional refers to an act over which
a player has no control, such as a hat blowing off or a scream after a
wasp sting.
USTA Comment 26.2: Can a player’s own action be the basis for
that player claiming a let or a hindrance? No. Nothing a player does
entitles that player to call a let. For example, a player is not entitled to a
Let because the player breaks a string, the player’s hat falls off, or a ball
in the player’s pocket falls out.
USTA Comment 26.3: What happens if a player’s cell phone
rings while the ball is in play? Because the player created the disturbance
by bringing the phone to the court and not turning it off, the
player is not entitled to a let. If the referee did not notify the players
that cell phones should be turned off and if this is the first time that
the phone has rung, then the opponent is entitled to a let. If the referee
notified the players or if the player receives more than one call
that rings, the opponent wins the point based on a hindrance.
USTA Comment 26.4: Can the server’s discarding of a second
ball constitute a hindrance? Yes. If the receiver asks the server to
stop discarding the ball, then the server shall stop. Any continued
discarding of the ball constitutes a deliberate hindrance, and the
server loses the point.
USTA Comment 26.5: Is an out call or other noise from a spectator
a hindrance that allows a point to be replayed? No. The actions
of a spectator in an area designated for spectators is not the
basis for replaying a point.