Mens Tennis Forums banner

Will Novak Djokovic have another peak year? If so, which year will be the soonest?

• Yes, in 2023 when he turns 36

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, in 2024 when he turns 37

• Yes, in 2025 when he turns 38

• Yes, in 2026 when he turns 39

• Yes, in 2027 or later, after he turns 40

• No, he will have no more peak years, because he is disgruntled with ITF, ATP, bigwigs, and Fedal.

• No, he will have no more peak years because of family matters.

• No, he will have no more peak years because his game has degraded too much to be competitive enough.

• I don't know, and/or I don't care. I'm an MTF Expert, not a bloody crystal ball.

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Novak's peak years seem to come in cycles. 2011, 2015-16, 2018-19. But it implies that he can also have lean years.

He will be completing his 34th year of life in May, 2021. On the plus side, he still has little top quality opposition younger than he is. Since 2011, he has enjoyed being the youngest multi-major winner playing.

Is this likely to change soon, and stop this all-time great in his tracks? Or will he still be able to win 2-3 majors in a year as he ages into his mid-30's? His top rival on clay is a year older, and on other surfaces, is almost half way into his 40th year. So he can continue dominating as he wishes.

Is health a concern (physical or mental)? Do you see a gradual or increased degradation of his champion's abilities?

Could his political ambitions and off court activities get in the way?

MTF Experts, weigh in.

Respectfully,
masterclass

·
Registered
55 Posts
There is really no reason he cannot have another good year in 2021. He takes really good care of himself and is younger than Nadal and especially Federer.