• Fake

Votes: 1 10.0%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Of course it is. There is a pretty robust consensus on the scientific community that it is happening. However, there are important sectors in society that do not agree, with reason or not. What is your opinion?

Here a pretty nice video showing the warming
Since 1850 the world has warmed by about 1°C and approximately half of this warming has occurred since 1990!

Full disclosure. I'm a climate scientist, and I don't know many skeptical (on climate change) people. It would be nice to understand your reasons if you are a global warming skeptic.

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It is actually the climate change, rather than global warming, which was the false term from the get go.
Being totally honest, me and most other scientists don't really pay attention to semantics and use both terms, mostly interchangeable. However, for this discussion the term "global warming" is the appropriate one, as I want to talk about the very rapid warming that has occurred since ~ 1850s and continue today, mostly caused by humans. Climate change is less specific, as it refers to changes in climate (redundant I know) that has occurred over any timescale (climate has warmed and cooled over its long history), and also includes changes due to internal variability (climate changes with El Niño events for example), independent of external forcing due to humans.

A good reference is this one Overview: Weather, Global Warming and Climate Change

As for the issue itself, my earlier and much talked thread could be a referance point for the MTFers' stance.

Thank you for pointing the thread. Actually, one of my areas of research is heat waves. The bottom line is: heat waves will not necessarily increase in number under global warming, but they will become longer, especially the more extreme ones.

·
Registered
4,760 Posts