Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If a slam winner falls out of the final Top Eight in the Race, he still gets the invitation for TMC? Therefore, Novak already qualified, no matter what final race spot he takes?
 

·
Vamos Mandy :)
Joined
·
85,829 Posts
Has to be in the top 20 of the race. So as soon as Novak has been confirmed to finish within the top 20 for the race as long as the other slam winners are within the top 7 (or behind him in the top 20), he would qualify automatically.

But really do you think he'll not be in the top 8? :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I sure don't :) just wanted to check how the rule works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,856 Posts
Joke will only be able to play if they build a court inside the Shanghai international hospital. They'll be able to take him to and from the court in a wheelchair and administer IV fluids on each changeover.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,049 Posts
It's not pointless. It's not about Novak, it's about the rules.

For instance, in 2002, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa were not in the top 8 of the race whereas they were both slam winner. Only one of them could go to the YEC, Costa !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,055 Posts
For instance, in 2002, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa were not in the top 8 of the race whereas they were both slam winner. Only one of them could go to the YEC, Costa !
There were even 3 GS winners out of top 8.
Costa: 11th
Sampras: 13th
Johansson: 14th

ToJo was the first alternate there, but does any one know if it was thanks to the rule (2nd GS winner out of top 8 is first alternate) or because Henman, Roddick, Haas, Nalbandian and Sampras did not want to come ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
So, the addendum to the rule is that no more than one out-of-the-eight-slam-winner can qualify directly. OK.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,522 Posts
In 2001, Goran appeared in TMC under this rule. He was ranked #13 after TMS Paris.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,172 Posts
There were even 3 GS winners out of top 8.
Costa: 11th
Sampras: 13th
Johansson: 14th

ToJo was the first alternate there, but does any one know if it was thanks to the rule (2nd GS winner out of top 8 is first alternate) or because Henman, Roddick, Haas, Nalbandian and Sampras did not want to come ?
It would make sense to me that any other Grand Slam champions (i.e. Johansson) were offered the alternate place first, but I don't know whether that's the rule or not. I only know that Henman said he wouldn't travel as an alternate that year and Sampras didn't play any events after his US Open win, not sure about Roddick, Haas or Nalbandian though...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,781 Posts
Novak will make it anyway without this rule. Unless he gets severley injured and is out for most of the year.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
WTA need to adopt this rule. I remember the Williams sisters incident in 05. Stupid WTA
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,871 Posts
What happened with the WS?
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top