Mens Tennis Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So today was my first day volunteering at Rogers Cup Canada. Afraid that I wouldn't get to work on time for my 9.00 a.m. shift, I got onto the subway at 7.00 a.m. and ended up getting there 45 minutes early - arriving at the same time as my supervisor and thus achieving 'brown-noser' status in one fell swoop.

Since this is my first year volunteering at the tournament, I was pretty clueless, unfortunately it's my supervisor's first year in Customer Service, so he was just as clueless as I was. I had no idea where I was supposed to be - it was an unmarked shuttle bus drop off point that I walked past 3 times. Fun.

Things started off nice and slow with 4 or 5 people trickling off the buses and me pointing the way to the Main Entrance; by 11.00am though, I was sick and tired of repeating "Good morning! The Main entrance is the white tent over to your left and tickets are at the stand right behind me!" - and I only had 4 more hours of this to look forward to.

There was a minor crisis when I realised that the other two girls working with me were going off at 1.00 pm and my shift would continue to 3.00pm with no break and no lunch - my supervisor forgot to give me my lunch voucher. Crisis was averted however, and I was able to return to my monotonous job with a slightly more realistic smile.

With the scorching sun (beautiful day, my ass) beating down upon me, people started to line up for the shuttle buses to take them back to where they were parked. Things were incredibly disorganised, with bus drivers arbitrarily deciding to stop their buses at different stops and with lined up people missing their buses. Thankfully, at the very height of this mess, my shift ended, and I got to go have a little fun.