Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 20 of 161 Posts

·
Registered
11,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Re: Crowdfunding in tennis

Marcus Willis has started the 'Willis for Wimbledon' project today.

My name is Marcus Willis I’m 23, British and a professional Tennis player. My singles ranking is currently 322 in the world and my doubles ranking is 224. I started playing Tennis when I was 9 years old after competing at national level Badminton since the age of 6. The first tennis club I played for was Latika (Berkshire). I then trained at Bisham Abbey throughout my secondary school years which involved waking up at 6 am to train until 10, going in to school until 2 and returning to training until 5, it was a grueling schedule but all the hard work was worth it when at the age of 15 I was selected to play for Great Britain.

As a junior I achieved British number 1 status and finished number 15 in the world before moving into the men’s game 6 months early. My dream is to make such a high ranking in the men’s tour one day but after cuts in funding after one year in the men’s tour, building this dream initially proved difficult to achieve. It has only been due to the Partial Sponsorship and the help of A1 Pharmaceuticals over the last year and a half that has enabled me to get to where I am today. The money given through this time helped me get my ranking from the 900′s to the 300′s. Making it obvious how important having additional support to fund a tennis career is. In this time I focused mainly on the Futures events, these are often much closer together and so are more feasible to play in terms of the financial costs associated with travel, accommodation and coaching.