Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Spain captain Alex Corretja has named a completely new team to the one that won the Davis Cup in December for this month's first round tie with Kazakhstan in Oviedo.

Nicolas Almagro, Marcel Granollers, Juan Carlos Ferrero and Marc Lopez will represent Spain in the tie which will take place between 10-12 February, while the team that beat Argentina 3-1 less than two months ago included Rafael Nadal, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez and Fernando Verdasco.

Almagro, who made his Davis Cup debut in 2008 against Peru, has only featured in three ties during his career, despite currently being number 11 in the world. He has played five rubbers in the competition and has a 3-2 win-loss record. Fans of Betfair tennis will be wondering if he can improve on this.

Former world number one and French Open champion Ferrero returns to the team for the first time since 2009. He was a member of the side that lifted Spain's first Davis Cup trophy in 2000 and again four years later, but has slipped to 47 in the world rankings. Those following the betting should bear this in mind.

Granollers is a doubles specialist and in the past has frequently partnered Lopez, the player that completes the four-strong team.

Kazakhstan won through to the Davis Cup quarter-finals last year when Mikhail Kukushkin and Andrey Golubev were key members of their side.

They caused a shock by beating Czech Republic 3-2 in the first round in 2011 before being thumped 5-0 by Argentina.

The tie will be played on a purpose-built clay court at the Palacio de los Deportes in Oviedo, the capital city of the Spanish northern region of Asturias.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts