Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
27,181 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7 4-6 7-6 6-4 7-6(8)

Nishikori's matches are comedy gold every time. He's had enough luck this year to last a life time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
249 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

What happened? Only saw the end and PCB looked pissed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,452 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

This match deserved a better ending than that. PCB was completely done after that questionable decision from the umpire
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,362 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

The lines person tried to rob Nishikori, but the umpire robbed PCB :lol: Incredible scenes. What a match.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21,396 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)



MWW right now
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

Although I think the umpire was right in awarding Nishikori the controversial point in the super tiebreak (assuming the call was late), it makes me question why Carreno Busta was even allowed to challenge. It's either the ball was out (as called by the linesperson) and he loses the point OR the ball was in, and he loses the point because Nishikori hit a winner before the supposed late 'out' call was made.

It was a non-starter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,369 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

Robbery? You've got to be kidding. Kei had won the point. Replaying it because of the wrong call (which had no impact on the point) would have been an incredible gift to Pablo.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,482 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

Pablo really should’ve won this, another match ruined by an umpire
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,163 Posts
Kei should have won that point if not the bad call of linesman, but according to the rules it should be a replay. PCB was robbed and then lost every point to the end.

This was the same umpire who gave ridiculous warning to Cornet for changing shirt on court.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,494 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

Deciding set GOAT strikes again :worship:

Who would've thought Kei will be the first player to play two fifth set Super TBs

PCB completely imploded after that line call at 8-5
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,186 Posts
Re: AO R4: Nishikori def. Carreño-Busta 6-7(8) 4-6 7-6(4) 6-4 7-6(8)

Although I think the umpire was right in awarding Nishikori the controversial point in the super tiebreak (assuming the call was late), it makes me question why Carreno Busta was even allowed to challenge. It's either the ball was out (as called by the linesperson) and he loses the point OR the ball was in, and he loses the point because Nishikori hit a winner before the supposed late 'out' call was made.

It was a non-starter.
I agree with this. Describes the situation well.
 
1 - 20 of 114 Posts
Top