Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,641 Posts
Ivashka straight up was robbed of a point in the TB. Though I really want to see a replay of that point. The call definitely came first but i thought he made the shot anyway.
 

·
justice for all
Joined
·
16,807 Posts
One can feel sorry for Ivashka. Poor chap. This win would mean so much for him.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,733 Posts
Ivashka had no chance in that point, but the call came before he hit the ball so should've been replayed. Rules-wise it was wrong, but play-wise Anderson would have won the point if there had been no call.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,147 Posts
Reminds me of Nishikori vs PCB last year.
Except no meltdown from Ivashka and he still couldn't win it. He also let one ball go which was on the line.

Was rooting for him at the end to pull through seeing how calm he was though. My stream froze beyond 7 all in the TB so I was clueless from then on.
 

·
Administrator | Chaos Theory
Joined
·
54,607 Posts
Ivashka lost it before the tiebreak by mentally collapsing with easy errors from 4-1 up in the 4th set. Anderson won 6 straight games and changed the complexion of the match. Bad luck but experience shows.
 

·
Administrator | Chaos Theory
Joined
·
54,607 Posts
How was Anderson's match fitness? It didn't seem particularly good at ATP Cup.
Looked awful at points, like he was s step slow on everything. Ivashka reinvigorated him by choking mid 4tg set though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
485 Posts
Ivashka had no chance in that point, but the call came before he hit the ball so should've been replayed. Rules-wise it was wrong, but play-wise Anderson would have won the point if there had been no call.
So Ivashka was robbed then. Umpires shouldn't go against the rules for what seems right.
 

·
Administrator | Chaos Theory
Joined
·
54,607 Posts
So Ivashka was robbed then. Umpires shouldn't go against the rules for what seems right.
If you can even judge the timing so closely. Split second stuff.
 

·
Administrator | Chaos Theory
Joined
·
54,607 Posts
I didn't see it, was just going off the comments. But yeah, can't blame umpires for missing the timing of such things.
the only thing Ivashka did was connect with the ball on the full stretch but knocked it down and to the left side (so didn't get it back in play). Whether the <400ms had enough impact to make him give up on the pt or affect his shot is another matter but given the circumstance, Kevin had the point 95% won, it caught a thin sliver of the sideline. A replay is warranted for sure if he had retrieved the ball in play. Otherwise it is discretionary.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,733 Posts
So Ivashka was robbed then. Umpires shouldn't go against the rules for what seems right.
It was the wrong call by the umpire, I agree. But if there had been no call by the line one, Anderson would have won the point. So to me it wasn't a complete robbery.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,155 Posts
So Ivashka was robbed then. Umpires shouldn't go against the rules for what seems right.
No he wasn't lol. And yes they should, it's called applying common sense.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top