Mens Tennis Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
"Coaching is about learning too," he said. "We all know how to play the game, we all know what people need to do to make themselves more effective but the question is, ‘Why does that person you’re working with, not do what they themselves know they should be doing? You have to get inside somebody’s head and figure out how to get them from point A to point B. That’s the exciting part but that’s also time and commitment. And at this stage in my life I don’t have that luxury. When I get close to an empty nest, kids are gone, that’s when I’ll start to consider it."

"If I was a coach, I’d be focused on someone who’s not maximising their game really," he explained. "It wouldn’t be about coaching the best in the world, it would be about coaching the person that’s furthest from their potential. That would be the most challenging thing for me. How do you get somebody to really think outside the parameters that are limiting their game. When I think of that, I think of interesting players that have something on the table that’s not really utilised – a John Isner, someone who has that much to bring to the table and really help them cover some distance that they’ve yet to do."

Isner is currently flying the flag for US men’s tennis but the dearth of male players capable of doing some serious damage at the majors is startling and Agassi believes that sizeable changes need to occur at the grassroots level in order for America to catch up the European contingent who’ve stolen a march over the past decade.