Mens Tennis Forums banner

2002 ATP Awards

1450 Views 15 Replies 14 Participants Last post by  tennischick
2002 ATP Awards Presented by Waterford Crystal

Player of the Year - Lleyton Hewitt
Lleyton Hewitt won the ATP Champions Race for the second consecutive year to again claim the coveted year-end World No.1 ranking. Hewitt won five titles, including Wimbledon, the Tennis Masters Cup Shanghai and the Pacific Life Open, and reached two other Tennis Masters Series finals in Cincinnati and Paris.

Doubles Team of the Year - Mark Knowles and Daniel Nestor
Knowles and Nestor reunited in 2002 for a tour de force, winning six titles and reaching 13 finals. In a sizzling start to the season, Knowles and Nestor won the Australian Open as well as Tennis Masters Series titles in Indian Wells and Miami. They also reached Grand Slam finals at Roland Garros and Wimbledon.

Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award - Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi and Amir Hadad see article about this award at doubles team honored

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award & Most Improved Award - Paradorn Srichaphan
Thai shotmaker Paradorn Srichaphan made a huge impact on the ATP circuit during his breakthrough year in 2002, winning not only tournaments but also admiration of his peers. Srichaphan slashed his year-end ATP Entry Ranking from No. 126 to No. 16, claiming ATP titles in Long Island and Stockholm. Regarded as one of the most humble and fair players on the circuit, Srichaphan also won the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award.

Newcomer of the Year - Paul-Henri Mathieu
Frenchman Paul-Henri Mathieu announced himself to the tennis world in 2002 when he won back-to-back titles in Moscow and Lyon. Mathieu, 21 last month, slashed his year-end ATP Entry Ranking from No. 147 to No. 36. He did not win a single match at ATP level in 2001, but recorded a 23-16 match record last season.

Comeback of the Year - Richard Krajicek
Former Wimbledon champion Richard Krajicek returned to the ATP circuit after missing 20 months following elbow surgery in March 2001. In his second tournament back, the Dutchman reached the Wimbledon quarterfinals, beating James Blake and Mark Philippoussis before losing to Xavier Malisse.'s Fans' Favorite Award - Marat Safin
Favorite in a poll of more than 28,000 visitors to the Official Web site of the ATP. Twenty-one percent of the visitors nominated Safin, who also won the 2001 award, as their favorite player. Andre Agassi (14%), Gustavo Kuerten (13%) and Srichaphan (12%) also polled highly.

Ron Bookman Award for Media Excellence - Pedro Hernandez
Pedro Hernandez, a 46-year-old Barcelona native, has been the Director of Tennis A Fondo magazine since its creation in 1999. He has been the ATP's Open Seat Godo Press Officer since 1993 and the Press Officer of the Spanish Davis Cup team since 1997. A founding member of the International Tennis Writers' Association, Hernandez was the commentator for Spain's first tennis radio show on SER in 1984 and 1985.

Tennis Masters Series Tournament of the Year - NASDAQ-100 Open (Miami)

International Series Gold Tournament of the Year - Generali Open Kitzbuhel

International Series Tournament of the Year - Telenordia Swedish Open (Bastad)

See less See more
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Marat's the man:bounce: :bounce:
I wonder why potatoe wasn't on the poll of fan's fave.
Great picks. I agree with all those winners, they really do deserve it.
Aisam and Amir :D
Wow....2 consecutive times for Marat. Hehe...GREAT!

And *claps* for Paradorn, Mathieu and Krajicek too.
Marat :D
Congrats...for 2 times in a row hehe! :D
Congrats Marat
Congrats to Paradorn Srichaphan

for winning 3 awards.

1. Most Improved Players Award
2. Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award
3. Player Award who won the first ATP title of the year

Here below is the award trophy

Paradorn, you made Thai people proud. Big congratulation !!!!

:bounce: :D :bounce:
See less See more
:hearts: :hearts: :kiss:
a big MUUAAAHHH congratulations to Marat!!!!
We Love you!
and we would love you even more if you control your temper and win more ( just kidding..we love you no matter
Congrats Paradorn!!:D
Where's Andre?

:( That sort of sucks that the ole americano didn't get something. wwah :(


Register for Free and find a Partner at Tennis
Well done, Marat fans! :D :bounce:

Congratulations Marat!!! :bounce: :kiss: :hearts:
:D Marat :D

congrats to all the winners!
Re: Where's Andre?

Webman said:
:( That sort of sucks that the ole americano didn't get something. wwah :(
unfortunately there was no category that he really qualified for except "best playa of the year" which in all fairness should have gone to the Potato.
Larson's & Mr. Ed's version of 2002 awards ... analyses the awards...

Better Not Change Now.... Amir Hadad and Aisam-ul-Haq Quresh had better keep playing doubles together for a while. Fortunately, they are happy to do so. And on Thursday, they were recognized for their willingness to look beyond local conflicts as the ATP gave them the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award.

Most amazing was that, among all their various awards, this was the one listed first in the press release. "During a summer when fear and hatred garnered much of the headlines, Amir and Aisam-ul-Haq provided much needed relief with their simple message about tolerance through tennis," said ATP Chief Executive Officer Mark Miles. "It's fitting that we present the Arthur Ashe Award to these two players on the anniversary of Arthur's death, as Arthur remains the model for all of us on how athletes and sport can make a big difference in the lives of others."

The big winner in the awards, though, was Paradorn Srichaphan, who deservedly won the Most Improved Player award, and was also given the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award. Paul-Henri Mathieu was Newcomer of the Year. Lleyton Hewitt was Player of the Year, and Knowles and Nestor doubles team of the year. Richard Krajicek was given Comeback of the Year.

We note with astonishment that our list of player awards agreed with all of these except the Comeback Player (we didn't consider Krajicek really eligible yet). What's wrong with us?

what Mr. Ed had to say...

Once again this year, some of the On The Line staffers got together to hand out kudos and brickbats for the highlights and lowlights of the 2002 tennis season. A memorable year, to be sure! Your judges, juries and executioners are: Chris Gerby, Peter van Mierlo, Ed Toombs, Ed Zafian, Beth Knizer, and our "rookie", Joshua Lemere. (6 judges in all)

Player of the Year -- Hewitt (unanimous)
Newcomer of the Year -- Mathieu (2), Blake (2), Gonzalez (1) & Gasquet (1)
Comeback of the Year -- Kracijek (3)
Most Improved Player -- Srichaphan (unanimous)
Flop of the Year -- Henman & Jorge Diaz (1); Safin (1); Kiefer (1); Grand Slam Finals (1); Arazi (1); No pick (1)
Match of the Year -- Andre vs Android, USO (2)
Most Memorable Media Moment -- Clothing Scandals USO (2)
Nice Moment of the Year -- Android winning USO (3)
Not so Nice Moment of the Year -- Clothing Rules USO
Farewell You'll be Missed -- Pioline (4)
See less See more
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.