S.Q.T. (stupid question thread) - Page 29 - MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com

MenstennisForums.com is the premier Men's Tennis forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!

Reply

Old 06-05-2013, 12:00 AM   #421
country flag Lugburz
Registered User
 
Lugburz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near the quasars
Age: 25
Posts: 6,675
Lugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

I have S.Q. What's with all these north Korean flags lately?
__________________
TOMMY HAAS

Philipp Kohlschreiber - Stanislas Wawrinka - TB - NM - GD - EG - IS - DL - RF - DT - JWT


Quote:
Originally Posted by leng jai View Post
Everytime Haas wins a point is the happiest moment in my life.
Lugburz is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 06-05-2013, 06:31 AM   #422
country flag SVK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 23
Posts: 2,214
SVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Probably because of the new MTF rule (which is completely needed), what shows the level of posters here.

I have another one - What does umpire say when the ball bounce twice? I never understood correctly this word.
SVK is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 07:44 AM   #423
country flag appleGirl
Registered User
 
appleGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Age: 27
Posts: 1,446
appleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond reputeappleGirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

"Not up"
__________________
http://www.letsecondserve.com/

TT Singles: 105 (Best: 80) 2011: Fürth CH W, Izmir CH W, Seoul CH W, Sao Jose Do Rio Preto CH W; 2012: Tiburon CH W
TT Doubles: 48 (Best: 42) 2011: Izmir CH W (w/ Mahqz); 2012: US Open SF (w/Mahqz), Tiburon CH W (w/Mahqz), Antalya Fut W (w/Mahqz); 2013: Winston Salem W (w/Mahqz), US Open SF (w/Mahqz)
No.1vak Djokovic!

"Is something unbelievable how he returns, no? His return probably is one of the best of the history. That's my opinion, no? I never played against a player who's able to return like this. Almost every time." - R. Nadal about N. Djokovic
appleGirl is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:34 AM   #424
country flag ProdigyEng
#1
 
ProdigyEng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 21
Posts: 26,577
ProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Why do players with a single handed backhand bother holding their racket with two hands when in return stance?
ProdigyEng is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:00 AM   #425
country flag Litotes
ALT-0
 
Litotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 29,864
Litotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond reputeLitotes has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
Why do players with a single handed backhand bother holding their racket with two hands when in return stance?
I guess it's just an easy place to have the other hand. I did it myself.
Litotes is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:05 AM   #426
country flag buddyholly
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 13,937
buddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
Why do players with a single handed backhand bother holding their racket with two hands when in return stance?
The "other" hand is used to rotate the racquet to the proper grip once they know whether their next shot will be a forehand or backhand, slice or topspin.
__________________
JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY

Last edited by buddyholly : 06-05-2013 at 10:20 AM.
buddyholly is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:16 AM   #427
country flag buddyholly
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 13,937
buddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
If a player touches the net after hitting a ball that goes for a winner/hit for an error by their opponent, their opponent is automatically wins the point.

Why is this? I know sometimes an advantage could be gained from touching the net, but a slight accidental touch is not going to change the outcome of the point is it? Espescially if it's a clear winner and they slide into the net well after striking the ball..
You can not touch the net while the ball is in play and the ball is in play until it bounces twice on the opponent's side.
__________________
JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY

Last edited by buddyholly : 06-05-2013 at 10:26 AM.
buddyholly is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:09 PM   #428
country flag ProdigyEng
#1
 
ProdigyEng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 21
Posts: 26,577
ProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond reputeProdigyEng has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Can the server choose any side to serve on for the first point of the game?
ProdigyEng is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:23 PM   #429
country flag SVK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 23
Posts: 2,214
SVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond reputeSVK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

No, when you are serving you start every game from the right side of the court.
SVK is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:24 PM   #430
country flag Pratik
Registered User
 
Pratik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz
Posts: 7,887
Pratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond reputePratik has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

^no. You start on the right side. Thus, deuce always comes on the right and ad on the left. Hence the names deuce court and ad court.
Pratik is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:39 PM   #431
country flag Lugburz
Registered User
 
Lugburz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: near the quasars
Age: 25
Posts: 6,675
Lugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond reputeLugburz has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

I think you didn't understand him, I hope he meant the side of the court(top-bottom), because if he didn't know that you always start the serve from right, well that is a stupid question indeed.
__________________
TOMMY HAAS

Philipp Kohlschreiber - Stanislas Wawrinka - TB - NM - GD - EG - IS - DL - RF - DT - JWT


Quote:
Originally Posted by leng jai View Post
Everytime Haas wins a point is the happiest moment in my life.
Lugburz is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:54 PM   #432
country flag bjurra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,606
bjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyholly View Post
You can not touch the net while the ball is in play and the ball is in play until it bounces twice on the opponent's side.
Which actually is a silly rule that should be scrapped.
bjurra is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:56 PM   #433
country flag bjurra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,606
bjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy. View Post
Can the server choose any side to serve on for the first point of the game?
Very funny.
bjurra is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:32 PM   #434
country flag buddyholly
RAVE ON
 
buddyholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LUBBOCK TX
Posts: 13,937
buddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond reputebuddyholly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjurra View Post
Which actually is a silly rule that should be scrapped.
No, it is not silly. The umpire can not be expected to know when the net is touched, relative in time to other goings on while the ball is in play. Thus the only sensible rule is either that you can touch the net, or you can't touch the net during play of a point. Clearly, the second option could result in a player holding the net up when an opponent is returning the ball, or a player sitting on the net while his doubles partner hits the ball.
__________________
JOIN THE CHURCH OF THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER TODAY
buddyholly is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:38 PM   #435
country flag bjurra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,606
bjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond reputebjurra has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyholly View Post
No, it is not silly. The umpire can not be expected to know when the net is touched, relative in time to other goings on while the ball is in play. Thus the only sensible rule is either that you can touch the net, or you can't touch the net during play of a point. Clearly, the second option could result in a player holding the net up when an opponent is returning the ball, or a player sitting on the net while his doubles partner hits the ball.
Accidently touching the bottom of the net with your foot shouldnt cost you the point.

I think the rule should be limited to touching the net cord. Any deliberate manipulation of the net should of course also be banned but that only affects Mansour Bahrani anyway.
bjurra is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios