Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves) - Page 2 - MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com

MenstennisForums.com is the premier Men's Tennis forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!

Reply

Old 02-18-2012, 10:07 PM   #16
country flag Nixer
Registered User
 
Nixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moscow, Russia
Age: 27
Posts: 2,613
Nixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
I actually prefer the way he handled it today - if the server hits a 2nd serve, called good, challenged and called out, I think he should get a 2nd serve. It doesn't make sense to replay the whole 'point' since no real disadvantage was caused to the server.
Oh, is that what the situation was today? I didn't watch the match, from your post I thought it's the same as 1st situation. This one is different, so then the decision was correct.
Nixer is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 02-18-2012, 10:10 PM   #17
country flag Slice Winner
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,332
Slice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixer View Post
Oh, is that what the situation was today? I didn't watch the match, from your post I thought it's the same as 1st situation. This one is different, and then the decision was correct.
Sorry I wrote it the wrong way round.
Davy's 2nd serve was called out, Davy challenged and hawkeye called it good. Fergus gave Davy another 2nd serve instead of a 1st.
Slice Winner is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:25 PM   #18
country flag Nixer
Registered User
 
Nixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moscow, Russia
Age: 27
Posts: 2,613
Nixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond reputeNixer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
Sorry I wrote it the wrong way round.
Davy's 2nd serve was called out, Davy challenged and hawkeye called it good. Fergus gave Davy another 2nd serve instead of a 1st.
Well, usually umpires give 1st serves in that position.. Davy IMO should have complained, and called the supervisor if Murphy wouldn't change the decision.
Nixer is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:30 PM   #19
country flag Slice Winner
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,332
Slice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixer View Post
Well, usually umpires give 1st serves in that position.. Davy IMO should have complained, and called the supervisor if Murphy wouldn't change the decision.
Davy didn't seem pleased, but didn't argue too long.
Slice Winner is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:40 PM   #20
country flag 156mphserve
Registered User
 
156mphserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13,803
156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
I actually prefer the way he handled it today - if the server hits a 2nd serve, called out, challenged and called good, I think he should get a 2nd serve. It doesn't make sense to replay the whole 'point' since no real disadvantage was caused to the server.
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
__________________
2012 Chennai Champion
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
Milos

Welcome Your Newest Top 10 Member

Raonic

Proud Canadian
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
2012 Chennai Champion
156mphserve is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:34 PM   #21
country flag bassoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Age: 41
Posts: 80
bassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond reputebassoon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
This has never made sense to me until you articulated it this way. Thanks!
bassoon is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:37 PM   #22
country flag n8
 
n8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 30
Posts: 6,790
n8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond reputen8 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassoon View Post
This has never made sense to me until you articulated it this way. Thanks!
Ditto.
n8 is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:41 PM   #23
country flag fast_clay
Registered User
 
fast_clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ₫ṿﻁᶫỉᾔﺍᶏ
Posts: 15,730
fast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond reputefast_clay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
what a great post
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SelvenluvJo View Post
why are you so seriously
fast_clay is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:45 AM   #24
country flag Slice Winner
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,332
Slice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
davydenko successfully got a 2nd serve in, so why should he have had to get another one in?

A double fault is when you miss 2 serves in a row, he made a 2nd serve, so he shouldn't be given another 2nd serve because if he missed that one it would be a DF for missing only 1 serve in a row.

He made his serve, only reason that it wasn't allowed was a bad line judge call, why should he have to face the risk of having to make it again just because of a bad call? The fact that he had to is a disadvantage to the server isn't it?

a DF is 0/2 serves in, not 1/3
I understand the reasoning behind it, and it makes sense.
I just think giving another first serve is an imperfect solution. (And either Fergus agrees with me, or he forgot the rules :P)

It's unfair having to hit another 2nd serve having already made one. But it's unfair to the returner to have to receive another first serve despite server having definitely missed it.
Slice Winner is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:51 AM   #25
country flag 156mphserve
Registered User
 
156mphserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13,803
156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute156mphserve has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

well there isn't a 1.5th serve, and imo it would be more unfair on the server to get a 2nd serve that it would be on the returner to have to return a 1st.

When a server misses a first serve, makes the 2nd, they play a point and somewhere in the rally there's a missed called, that gets either overuled or challenged and reversed, and the point needs to be replayed, the server gets a first serve then too. Is that unfair on the returner as well?
__________________
2012 Chennai Champion
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
Milos

Welcome Your Newest Top 10 Member

Raonic

Proud Canadian
11-13 San Jose 3-Peat
2012 Chennai Champion
156mphserve is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:56 AM   #26
country flag Slice Winner
Registered User
 
Slice Winner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,332
Slice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond reputeSlice Winner has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156mphserve View Post
well there isn't a 1.5th serve, and imo it would be more unfair on the server to get a 2nd serve that it would be on the returner to have to return a 1st.
I agree.. there isn't a perfectly fair solution, but makes more sense to give the advantage to the server since it's his service game.

Quote:
When a server misses a first serve, makes the 2nd, they play a point and somewhere in the rally there's a missed called, that gets either overuled or challenged and reversed, and the point needs to be replayed, the server gets a first serve then too. Is that unfair on the returner as well?
Yea, I think so.
Slice Winner is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:57 AM   #27
country flag Yolita
Registered User
 
Yolita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1,933
Yolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond reputeYolita has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Someone Explain This To Me... (Re. Serves)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slice Winner View Post
I understand the reasoning behind it, and it makes sense.
I just think giving another first serve is an imperfect solution. (And either Fergus agrees with me, or he forgot the rules :P)

It's unfair having to hit another 2nd serve having already made one. But it's unfair to the returner to have to receive another first serve despite server having definitely missed it.
Or he was trying to help Federer. We'll never know...
__________________
NOVAK DJOKOVIC
Yolita is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios