Practicing with wall to get better worth it? - MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com

MenstennisForums.com is the premier Men's Tennis forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!

Old 03-25-2009, 10:14 PM   #1
country flag wy2sl0

wy2sl0 is on a distinguished road
Default Practicing with wall to get better worth it?

Hi everyone,

I started playing tennis last year and usually got out 2-3 times a week to play for an hour or so. Ive found myself learning faster than my friend I started with at the same time as me, however most of that is due to the time I play against my father who is better than I am. Anyways, I currently use an ncode n4 that I bought a couple weeks after I started playing. Im only 120 lbs or so and 5'8". I am still not 100% in terms of recuperating from mono I got last year so I my fatigue factor is high even though I am very agile on the court when I have to be. When I start using the wall as practice ( against a school there are no public walls around with net markings )I end up having to hit the ball fairly hard to generate enough pace and it usually moves left to right alot. I also find the wall a bad example of using force that is proportional to when on a court. My racket has power if I swing hard and I can sail the ball from baseline to baseline fairly easy. Also when im on a real court I can aim to the person just fine within a meter usually of the center of them but against the wall I can never stand still and just keep hitting the ball within a small radius. Is there any tips or better practice ideas you guys can give me? Snow is just melting around here so I am just starting to play again. I also just bought a Speedport red that should be in next week to lose a little power and gain some more control. Im having it strung at 58lbs with Luxilon Big Banger strings, as my n4 is at 61lbs now with Sensation 16's.