fairly new to this game, need new racquet. - MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com

MenstennisForums.com is the premier Men's Tennis forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!

Old 07-24-2008, 08:31 PM   #1
country flag littleboi

littleboi is on a distinguished road
Default fairly new to this game, need new racquet.

Hello all, I am new to tennis and been playing this game for about 5 months now. Although play time and practice time was inconsistent due to busy schedule. Other than that, I want to learn how to play this game fairly well. I was able to arrange my schedule so that I could play tennis after work. So pretty much I can play tennis everyday after work. Which really help relieves stress. Not planning on turning pro but just want to be good enough to have a good and fun game.

With that aside, I’m currently using a Wilson N1 nCode, pre-strung. I bought these because I got it on sale and I just heard that if you have a bigger racquet head, you’ll have more power. I have very little knowledge about racquets and strings and the mechanics about the equipment. That’s why I came here for help and some advices/suggestions.

I like to play all around the court. Although when I play, baseline is about 75% of the rally. One big problem about me is that I don’t have that much strength in my swings. As far as I know, you have to have a strong groundstroke as a baseliner. I kinda don’t have that. I’m a pretty small guy at 5 foot 5 inches. Every time I want to hit the ball with a top spin, I spend about 5x effort just to hit it over the net. Which drains a lot of energy from me.