Groth through to second round in Sacramento, outgunning Denys Molchanov (ATP 236) 63 62. There were breaks aplenty in the first set, big Sam losing his serve twice in the first set but breaking Molchanov three times, then in the second set saving two break points whilst breaking Molchanov twice.
Keep going Sam.
Anyone else watching this? Groth is blowing a fuse after the umpire over ruled and called his forehand down the line out at 6-7 in the breaker.
Sam had been down 3-6* and pulled it back to 6-6 before double faulting. I initially thought his forehand down the line at 6-7 was out but the call didn't come, until the umpire called out a second or two later, just after Polansky had returned the shot.
Groth goes a break up in the third, then Polansky pulls it bakc to get to 3-4 on serve, then Groth powers away to win the set 6-3 and a hotly contested match 67,76,63.
Up against No.2 seed Tim Smyczek (ATP100) in QF round next.
Go big Sam.