Originally Posted by erickmartins
it's first and final. The rule is supposed to be applied in the situation of placing ALTs/LLs, and it is clear that a round where that can happen configures a "first round" for the purpose of that rule. As this is the case here, I see no reason not to use it.
I think maybe you misunderstand the rule, it says that if there are no ALT's or LL's to replace a situation where both players in a 1st round qualy or main draw match only fail to send picks only then can a LL move into the next round, it doesn't say "what round suits the manager" or anything like that, as far as I know the final qualy round will always be the final qualy round, maybe you should ask your fellow managers about this.