Originally Posted by 156mphserve
It's quite common, I know te Rogers cup does it usually, can't remember if they did this yer or not
But when the draw gets made and SE are not sure or not then they leave that blank and have so many q/SE spots in the draw, if the SE is awarded then they get drawn into one of those spots and qualifiers get the rest, if te SE is not awarded then the next direct acceptance would be added in the same way
Yeah they can, it's kind of a weird rule because a 250 can't get u Into a 500.
Now I think about it, maybe it's not that weird, cause there aren't that many Masters to use it with, either they shouldn't have SE's at all, or if they are have it be from a 500.
Anyhow, Dimi's chances are slipping away, as he's dropped a set and is down a break in the 2nd, so it's moot.
Best TT singles rank: 23
Best TT doubles rank: 55
TT stats site: http://mtftt.info/
Melzer, Rafa, Fognini, Murray, Pospisil, Ferrer, Haas, Dolgopolov, Almagro, Janowicz, Kohlschreiber, plus a lot more, mostly, if not all clay courters, but firstly just the game itself.