MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com (http://www.menstennisforums.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Tipping (http://www.menstennisforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=532)
-   -   Players retiring - Should SRs count or not? (http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=99769)

adee-gee 04-14-2007 04:31 PM

Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
We previously had a poll to decide whether matches where someone retiring should count, and the results showed that most people were in favour of them counting. However, we have run into some problemswith regards to SRs in retired matches. Both rules we have used have had their problems, as seen below. So it's only fair to go with what the majority of TT players would see as "the lesser of 2 evils".

Option A - SRs do not count

This was the original rule, although it ran into problems in Acapulco when TT player A needed 'X' to win 2-0, and TT Player B needed 'X' to win 2-1. 'X' was leading by a set and 5-3, when his opponent retired. TT Player A then lost the match because of this, whereas he would've won if the injured opponent had completed one more game. Due to this, we changed the rule (to option B).


Option B - SRs do count

This rule was introduced, but has caused recent controversy in Valencia. Rules were changed so that if more than 1 set had been played, the player retiring forfeited all remaining sets. However, in Valencia, TT Team A needed player 'X' to win 2-1, and TT Team B needed player 'X' to win 2-0. Player 'X' led 6-4 *1-0 when his opponent retired. Under the old rules, TT Team A would have won the match, as this SR would have been void. Under the new rules, TT Team B claimed victory as player 'X' was awarded a 2-0 victory.


I hope these explanations are ok, please vote for your preferred option. The poll will be open for 1 week, and whichever option is more popular will be implemented after Monte Carlo. Thanks :wavey:

Enjoy Incubus 04-14-2007 06:32 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
I vote for option B. If the match counts, then SR must count.

Spadea TT 04-14-2007 08:11 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
I voted A :D

Blue Heart24 04-14-2007 08:32 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
Option A

GlennMirnyi 04-14-2007 08:35 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
I'd like to know what people would think if a 1/6 1/6 0/5 ret match counted as 3 sets to 2. :lol:

Melvins 04-14-2007 09:29 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
B, if the retire player hasn't in advantage.

Chris 84 04-14-2007 09:34 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
I don't think the matches should count at all, but since they do, I think set ratio must count as well :shrug:

Björki 04-14-2007 09:57 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
A :p

Melvins 04-14-2007 10:26 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Melvins (Post 5191524)
B, if the retire player hasn't in advantage.

Ok, I think it's stupid count set ratios in a retire match.:lol:

Labamba 04-14-2007 10:34 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GlennMirnyi (Post 5191241)
I'd like to know what people would think if a 1/6 1/6 0/5 ret match counted as 3 sets to 2. :lol:

:lol:

but would you agree if you would lose the TT Wimby final, because Rafa retired at 1-6 1-6 0-5* :p

Labamba 04-14-2007 10:37 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
B

because I don't like it when people pray for somebody to retire and I think it's much more horrible to lose like that then the other way around...

Foosimoo 04-14-2007 10:58 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
Option A :shrug: :lol:

MissPovaFan 04-14-2007 11:10 PM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
I don't think a SR should count if a player retires unless the retirement happens during the final set - then I feel it should count.

However I do feel a match should count as long as one point of the match is played. Basically sometimes when I make my picks I do so with the prediction fo who might or might not retire - for example if Coria plays Sweeting I might go for Sweeting due to the high chance of a retirement.

Peta Pan 04-15-2007 01:14 AM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
A.

The match should still count, but not the SR. SR should just be forfeited for that match and go to the next SR to decide the match... and if it's SR5 then it goes to PTS.

GustavoM_Fan 04-15-2007 01:30 AM

Re: Players retiring - Should SRs count or not?
 
Is not an easy decision, but imagine you have Player A 2-0 and he wins 6-4 4-0 ret. I think it should be counted.

But 6-4 1-0 ret... I think not..... :rolleyes:


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.