MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com (http://www.menstennisforums.com/index.php)
-   General Player Talk (http://www.menstennisforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=596)
-   -   One handed or double handed backhand?? (http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=185623)

skipthekang 06-28-2011 06:20 PM

One handed or double handed backhand??

Hi guys,

I am a beginner and would like to know whether it is better to learn the single handed or the double handed backhand.

I have played squash for a while so it is more intuitive for me to play it with one hand, but it also seems more difficult to hit the ball accurately...

What would you recommend?

Thanks,
skip

scarecrows 06-28-2011 06:26 PM

Re: One handed or double handed backhand??

do whatever you feel is more natural
2handed is more easy to learn but at amateur level you can do more things with the 1hander

Pirata. 06-28-2011 06:26 PM

One handed is more aesthetically pleasing, but it's probably better to do two handed. Try both and see which you are most comfortable with.

viruzzz 06-28-2011 06:40 PM

Just forehand.

Really, only forehand. You don't need that backhand shit, that's for amateurs.

Real players play with just the Forehand.

skipthekang 06-28-2011 09:02 PM

Allright, I will prob. stick with the two-handed... because if I do it one handed Im playing it like I would do it in Squash...

However, the motion feels so damn unnatural?! :D

I hope I will get more power behind the shots soon!
Thanks for your comments!

Clashcityrocker 09-06-2011 11:37 AM

how's it going with the 2 hander now ?

10sMan 09-18-2011 10:42 PM

I think you will be more consistent with 2 hands. It is also easier to learn technique... You just need 1 good lesson and you will learn it (then you need to practice it a lot). It's a very simple stroke.

Super Djoker 09-25-2011 02:07 PM