MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com (http://www.menstennisforums.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Equipment (http://www.menstennisforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=597)
-   -   Shoes for a beginner? (http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=142360)

SkepticJason 04-22-2009 04:18 PM

Shoes for a beginner?

Greetings all. I am a beginning tennis player (in that I have been playing casually for a few years, but am starting lessons within the week), and I wanted to know if there was some general good advice for buying tennis shoes. I searched this particular forum, but found a lot of threads where folks asked very specific questions dealing with such things as the shape of their feet.

What exactly makes a tennis shoe different than any other athletic footwear? I am certain there must be a difference, but have been unable to find it online. Is there such thing as a "beginner's" shoe such as it is with racquets, or is the same kind of support/performance desirable for all levels of play?

Thanks in advance!

jazar 04-22-2009 04:56 PM

Re: Shoes for a beginner?

there is no such thing as a beginners tennis shoe. though from my experience of selling equipment to tennis players, i find that most beginners would go for a more basic shoe.

the differences between a tennis shoe and a normal shoe are that a tennis shoe has more cushoining, lateral support and a non-marking and grippy sole unit.

SkepticJason 04-22-2009 05:14 PM

Thanks for that. It is good to know for a fact that there are no "beginner's" shoes. I couldn't imagine why there would be, but I wanted to make 100% sure. I am currently using a very generic sneaker, but I want something that will provide better support and protection.

I suppose my best bet would be to go to my local sporting goods store and just try some on for feel. I am pleased that it seems that simple.

miura 04-22-2009 06:12 PM