MensTennisForums.com

MensTennisForums.com (http://www.menstennisforums.com/index.php)
-   Tennis Equipment (http://www.menstennisforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=597)
-   -   Newbie, what racquet do I need? (http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=118215)

ibanick 02-23-2008 11:47 PM

Newbie, what racquet do I need?

Hello all
I've started tennis since November , I've been having lessons twice a week.
Besides continuing the lessons I've played some 1-set games with some of the teachers and other students. I would risk to say that my level at this point is 2.0-2.5

I started playing with a Prince Air Freak 100, wife's gift. Ever since I've tried out other racquets and found not to appreciate my racquet's feel as much as others. I don't know why.

Here in Greece tennis is not a sport a lot of people play so you can neither find tennis oriented stores nor real experts.

So, wanting to buy my next racquet (all around preferably), are there characteristics that suit my level at present and for the next 1-2 years? Headsize, weight etc etc.

Thanks in advance for your time and help

Nikos

jazar 02-24-2008 09:41 AM

Re: Newbie, what racquet do I need?

you should be looking for a racket of a similar weight (about 290g), a slighlty head heavy balance, and a midplus head size. here are a couple of suggestions:

Head Microgel Extreme (107 sq inch, 286g)
Wilson K4 105 (105 sq inch, 286g)
Prince Ozone 7 (105 sq inch, 290g)
Babolat Aero Strike Cortex (100 sq inch, 292g)

ibanick 02-24-2008 09:53 AM

thank for the suggestions Jazar

I've seen from others posts that you are against O3 racquets and that RED is a women's racquet.
Since Ozone has almost the same specs why not buy a O3. I mean they are supposed to be the lastest tech. of Prince.

Nikos

jazar 02-24-2008 04:27 PM