- Reply to Topic
Thread: Droping your racket during play... Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
04-28-2008 10:01 PM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

if you drop your racket it would come under accidental hinderence

this would mean the first time would play a let second time you would concede teh point and receive a code violation under 'unsportsman like conduct'
04-28-2008 02:37 PM
Topspin Sports
Re: Droping your racket during play...

You can drop the let call!

That would not be fair as a player may intentionally throw/drop a racquet midpoint to replay it. Play continues when you drop your racquet.

If an article of clothing falls off or a lose the point!

Sometimes there are generous umpires who will give warnings, but if a ball falls out of your pocket it is technically YOUR fault, you are not granted a let, you simply lose the point. Same goes with articles of clothing. You can NOT call a let on your own problems!
04-20-2008 12:03 PM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

thanks for the correct terminology. I've edited the post

i always say "let" verbally, but i spell 'em wrong or mix 'em up a lot when typing.
04-20-2008 11:39 AM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

For your information, it's a "let",not "net".
04-20-2008 11:21 AM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

that would be the wise thing to do...

I knew if the racket left your hand, the point no longer counts even if it somehow hit the ball back over.

But your explanation make sense, we can separate the racket from other items you bring to court since it's absolutely necessary.
04-14-2008 12:24 AM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

I always thought that if you dropped the racket it would just be up to your opponent to finish the point with a winner before you can recover your racket. The racket isn't really an `article` as such as it is part of the game (unlike an unused ball in your pocket).
04-13-2008 10:04 PM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

yes they would lose the point and recieve a code violation
04-13-2008 04:50 AM
Re: Droping your racket during play...

Also I've heard commentators say that any article that comes off a player during play will be called a net and replay point. if it happen the second time then they lose the point. Is this correct?

any article = tennis ball drops out of the pocket, or a cap or sunnies or earrings(might be too small to notice) etc. that was attached to the player and then lose contact from his/her body for whatever reason.
If the empire didn't notice, can his opponent stop play?
04-12-2008 10:05 AM
Droping your racket during play...

This video from ATP's player of the week show cased Djokovic's quick reaction.
During an rally with Nadal, Djokovic dropped his racket after hitting the ball during play.

link to vid:

my question is, shouldn't the chair empire call "let" and replay the point?
Is the Hindrance rule applicable here?

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome