MensTennisForums.com - Reply to Topic
Thread: Ask the board Thread Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
03-20-2017 11:42 PM
keqtqiadv
Re: Ask the board Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibreak4coffee View Post
Hey guys could I get a second pair of eyes on this please?

http://www.menstennisforums.com/38249793-post263.html

BMT360 pointed out that I placed the ALT into the one match where no one sent and that means they go through rather than the first seed. His argument is that the first seed should advance and the other player placed against the ALT.

My reading of the rules is that "3.1.5.6 How to place Alternates & Lucky losers in the draw sub b)" just states you place the ALT as a priority into the match where there's no picks.

Who's right?

Code:
]3.1.5.6 How to place Alternates & Lucky losers in the draw

Placement's basics:

Quote:
- More or equal alt/LL than missing players: check itens a, b, c & d (flowchart: link).
- Less alt/LL than missing players but more or equal alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e & f (flowchart: link).
- Less alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e, f, g & h (flowchart: link).
a) Alternates/lucky losers should be placed according to the list order: first alternate/lucky loser gets placed first, second alternate/lucky loser gets placed second etc.

b) Place the first alternates/lucky losers in matches where neither player sends picks.
Quote:
Example (basics 'b'):

Draw
#1 vs. #8 Missing picks from #8
#5 vs. #4 - Missing picks from #5 and #4 (place the first alt/LL here)
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6

The first alt/LL must be placed in the second match (where both players failed to send picks).

#1 vs. #8
#5 vs. LL1
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6
Item 'b' is the first real step, but it doesn't stop there. You have to go through items a-f.
Quote:
- Less alt/LL than missing players but more or equal alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e & f.
Item 'a' states that LL must be placed according to the list order. The first step is to place the LL in matches where neither player sent (item 'b', according to the order described in item 'c'). Then, if there are any LL left, they must be placed according to item 'd'. After these two steps, if there are LL placed against a missing player, the draw should be rearranged so that the best ranked players receive byes instead (item 'e', according to the order described in item 'f').
03-20-2017 06:27 PM
ibreak4coffee
Re: Ask the board Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Litotes View Post
An ALT should never win on WO in the 1st round unless everyone non-ALT who sent wins on WO.
Rules need to be clarified then because it doesn't read that way (even if it makes complete sense)
03-20-2017 06:26 PM
Litotes
Re: Ask the board Thread

An ALT should never win on WO in the 1st round unless everyone non-ALT who sent wins on WO.
03-20-2017 02:58 PM
Randy
Re: Ask the board Thread

Either way (actually)

since there would be an ALT/LL placed agaisnt someone who didnt send, you need to re-do the draw according to this rule

e) After the steps above and all the alt/LL available have been placed, if there are any alternates/lucky losers placed against a player who hasn’t sent picks, the draw should be adjusted in order to give the byes to the best ranked players who have been directly accepted into the draw (rankings from two weeks before the start of the tournament).


(Flowchart shown below)

http://www.menstennisforums.com/3317052-post95.html

if you need help re-doing the draw feel free to ask. I've had to do quite a few of these on TF (part of the reason why i stopped hosting there)


If it's only just that one match, the first seed gets the bye and you throw his opponent against the ALT :]



Draw after placing one alt/LL in matches with two missing players - no alt/LL remaining
#1 vs. #8 Missing picks from #8
#5 vs. LL1 - Missing picks from #5 Alt/LL placed against a missing player - draw must be rearranged
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6

LL1 is placed against a missing player, so the draw should be rearranged. The best ranked player without a bye is #2, so they should be given a bye and their opponent should be moved to play LL1.

#1 vs. #8
#6 vs. LL1
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. bye

@ibreak4coffee :]
03-20-2017 02:56 PM
ibreak4coffee
Re: Ask the board Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy View Post
were there any matches in which neither player sent?
Yes just one and that's where I placed the ALT, meaning he goes through
03-20-2017 02:54 PM
Randy
Re: Ask the board Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibreak4coffee View Post
Hey guys could I get a second pair of eyes on this please?

http://www.menstennisforums.com/38249793-post263.html

BMT360 pointed out that I placed the ALT into the one match where no one sent and that means they go through rather than the first seed. His argument is that the first seed should advance and the other player placed against the ALT.

My reading of the rules is that "3.1.5.6 How to place Alternates & Lucky losers in the draw sub b)" just states you place the ALT as a priority into the match where there's no picks.

Who's right?

Code:
]3.1.5.6 How to place Alternates & Lucky losers in the draw

Placement's basics:

Quote:
- More or equal alt/LL than missing players: check itens a, b, c & d (flowchart: link).
- Less alt/LL than missing players but more or equal alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e & f (flowchart: link).
- Less alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e, f, g & h (flowchart: link).
a) Alternates/lucky losers should be placed according to the list order: first alternate/lucky loser gets placed first, second alternate/lucky loser gets placed second etc.

b) Place the first alternates/lucky losers in matches where neither player sends picks.
Quote:
Example (basics 'b'):

Draw
#1 vs. #8 Missing picks from #8
#5 vs. #4 - Missing picks from #5 and #4 (place the first alt/LL here)
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6

The first alt/LL must be placed in the second match (where both players failed to send picks).

#1 vs. #8
#5 vs. LL1
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6

were there any matches in which neither player sent?
03-20-2017 02:50 PM
ibreak4coffee
Re: Ask the board Thread

Hey guys could I get a second pair of eyes on this please?

http://www.menstennisforums.com/38249793-post263.html

BMT360 pointed out that I placed the ALT into the one match where no one sent and that means they go through rather than the first seed. His argument is that the first seed should advance and the other player placed against the ALT.

My reading of the rules is that "3.1.5.6 How to place Alternates & Lucky losers in the draw sub b)" just states you place the ALT as a priority into the match where there's no picks.

Who's right?

Code:
]3.1.5.6 How to place Alternates & Lucky losers in the draw

Placement's basics:

Quote:
- More or equal alt/LL than missing players: check itens a, b, c & d (flowchart: link).
- Less alt/LL than missing players but more or equal alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e & f (flowchart: link).
- Less alt/LL than matches with two missing players: check itens a, b, c, d, e, f, g & h (flowchart: link).
a) Alternates/lucky losers should be placed according to the list order: first alternate/lucky loser gets placed first, second alternate/lucky loser gets placed second etc.

b) Place the first alternates/lucky losers in matches where neither player sends picks.
Quote:
Example (basics 'b'):

Draw
#1 vs. #8 Missing picks from #8
#5 vs. #4 - Missing picks from #5 and #4 (place the first alt/LL here)
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6

The first alt/LL must be placed in the second match (where both players failed to send picks).

#1 vs. #8
#5 vs. LL1
#3 vs. #7
#2 vs. #6
03-16-2017 02:21 PM
Randy
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMT360 View Post
There was a match in R1 where nobody sent. So the highest losing score would replace them. But the first LL who had the highest losing score from R1 did not send for R2. What should I do? Leave it? Take LL2 (who did send)?
You leave it. The person they would play just gets the walkover
03-15-2017 05:17 PM
Darth Revan
Re: Ask the board Thread

it would be most fair to take LL2 but hey, I don't know much of MTF rules
03-15-2017 02:17 PM
BMT360
Re: Ask the board Thread

There was a match in R1 where nobody sent. So the highest losing score would replace them. But the first LL who had the highest losing score from R1 did not send for R2. What should I do? Leave it? Take LL2 (who did send)?
03-11-2017 01:14 PM
BMT360
Re: Ask the board Thread

I will not be home until tomorrow so I cannot post qualifying draws or final entry lists for drummondville. Can someone do that and post the OOP for Sunday? I can post differences tomorrow. There might not even be qualifying, but I need to make sure, and I cannot do that.

When I come back, I can post the main draws and take over management as normal for the rest of the week.

Thanks! I hope I find someone.
03-11-2017 02:46 AM
a1canada
Re: Ask the board Thread

Board is still asleep buddy, match is void😆
03-10-2017 10:59 PM
guy.hanit
Re: Ask the board Thread

If a match didn't even start (player won by WO) the match counts like 2-0 or doesn't count?
03-10-2017 08:59 PM
keqtqiadv
Re: Ask the board Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rusca_djokerfan View Post
If we pass first round in singles or doubles in IW we can' t play challenger in 2nd Week or ?
Players who reach singles 3rd round or doubles 2nd round in IW are not allowed to play week #11 challengers.
03-10-2017 12:47 PM
rusca_djokerfan If we pass first round in singles or doubles in IW we can' t play challenger in 2nd Week or ?
This thread has more than 15 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome