MensTennisForums.com - Reply to Topic
Thread: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread) Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
04-25-2016 01:52 PM
fridge46
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Hehe

Just watching the Dodig/Gulbis match being suspended

#Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow
04-25-2016 10:34 AM
patriotsfan1
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zjtennis View Post
You're welcome! The first time I actually saw about snow interrupting play was in the TF forum actually, about one DC tie in Russia I think which was so cold. I wonder how much snow it will take to stop play. Unlike rain it isn't going to immediately wet the court that much but the visibility might be a big problem.
Another timely coincidence. I mentioned maybe there was a Davis Cup tie in a cold country like Russia where snow could be a possibility. I didn't realized it had actually happened in the past.
04-25-2016 10:15 AM
zjtennis
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patriotsfan1 View Post
I remember that question being asked. I'm glad you found the original post. I didn't imagine this being a possibility until now.
You're welcome! The first time I actually saw about snow interrupting play was in the TF forum actually, about one DC tie in Russia I think which was so cold. I wonder how much snow it will take to stop play. Unlike rain it isn't going to immediately wet the court that much but the visibility might be a big problem.
04-25-2016 09:27 AM
patriotsfan1
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zjtennis View Post
What do you know...it is an answerable question!

http://www.menstennisforums.com/2-ge...-snowfall.html
I remember that question being asked. I'm glad you found the original post. I didn't imagine this being a possibility until now.
04-25-2016 08:41 AM
zjtennis
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridge46 View Post
Has a match ever been suspended because of snow?!
What do you know...it is an answerable question!

http://www.menstennisforums.com/2-ge...-snowfall.html
04-25-2016 07:37 AM
Litotes
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patriotsfan1 View Post
On livescore sites that show point by point updates of matches, how do they know which player will serve first to begin the match? On these sites, you see a tennis ball graphic next to the player's name to indicate who is serving. I know the chair umpire inputs data of each point won into a computer and the information gets relayed to various sources.
I'm not sure how they know but I do know they frequently get it wrong. I've seen several breaks of serve in the opening game that soon turns out to have been a hold instead.
04-25-2016 06:33 AM
patriotsfan1
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

On livescore sites that show point by point updates of matches, how do they know which player will serve first to begin the match? On these sites, you see a tennis ball graphic next to the player's name to indicate who is serving. I know the chair umpire inputs data of each point won into a computer and the information gets relayed to various sources.
04-20-2016 01:05 PM
Ertl93
Re: Rules for SE

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridge46 View Post
No.

It can be anyone whose ranking was not high enough to be a Direct Acceptance.

See Rulebook article 7.10

I thought it has changed since we have Q entry lists.
04-20-2016 01:03 PM
fridge46
Re: Rules for SE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ertl93 View Post
Can only players who committed to a tournament's Q receive a SE there?
No.

It can be anyone whose ranking was not high enough to be a Direct Acceptance.

See Rulebook article 7.10

04-20-2016 12:57 PM
Ertl93
Rules for SE

Can only players who committed to a tournament's Q receive a SE there?
03-29-2016 09:52 PM
ali
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ali View Post
on http://www.menstennisforums.com/4466...%7C-miami.html, what is the final pick for final?

Day 10 or Day 11?
Code:
The QFs are played over two days. 
Two QFs tomorrow, two QFs the day 
after that, 
then SFs then F. 
7 + 4 = 11.
^ an answer from somebody kind.
03-29-2016 01:01 PM
ali
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

on http://www.menstennisforums.com/4466...%7C-miami.html, what is the final pick for final?

Day 10 or Day 11?
03-23-2016 01:37 AM
ali
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrEleganza View Post
Maybe not a complete answer to your question, but at least one that deals with this specific circumstance came up on the ATP Miami entry thread:



http://www.menstennisforums.com/34297633-post48.html

As the highest seed who made it to the final round of qualifying but did not win, I believe that Zeballos would've gotten a LL spot instead of Donaldson if Klizan or Haase had waited until qualifying was complete to withdraw.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_M...les#Qualifying

thanks MrEleganza for your thoughtful answer.

< I believe that Zeballos would've gotten a LL spot instead of Donaldson if Klizan or Haase had waited until qualifying was complete to withdraw.
^ especially valuable for me.

also the wikipedia link is new to me and it will help me much.


Quote:
Originally Posted by fridge46 View Post
In this example, 2 players withdrew before the completion of the qualifying competition.

When this occurs, the 2 lucky losers are drawn at random between the 3 highest ranked final qualifying round losers. In this case: Zeballos (113), Dutra Silva (114) and Donaldson (158).

If there were 3 places available - it would be 3 at random from the 4 highest ranked losers; etc, etc...

However, if a main draw player withdraws after the completion of the qualifying competition, then the highest ranked player moves in - so Zeballos will be first in line should that occur
thanks fridge46 for the to-the-point answer.

very easy to understand with examples.
< 2 lucky losers are drawn at random between the 3 highest ranked final qualifying round losers. In this case: Zeballos (113), Dutra Silva (114) and Donaldson (158).
< the highest ranked player moves in - so Zeballos will be first in line should that occur

03-23-2016 12:39 AM
fridge46
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

In this example, 2 players withdrew before the completion of the qualifying competition.

When this occurs, the 2 lucky losers are drawn at random between the 3 highest ranked final qualifying round losers. In this case: Zeballos (113), Dutra Silva (114) and Donaldson (158).

If there were 3 places available - it would be 3 at random from the 4 highest ranked losers; etc, etc...

However, if a main draw player withdraws after the completion of the qualifying competition, then the highest ranked player moves in - so Zeballos will be first in line should that occur
03-23-2016 12:39 AM
MrEleganza
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ali View Post
at Miami 2016 qualifications, we have 2 lucky losers out of 12 Q2 losers. the 2 lucky players are in cyan.



now, why Donaldson and Dutra Silva? not, for an example, Rubin?

is the standart to pick a lucky loser set by ATP or by each tournament ?
Maybe not a complete answer to your question, but at least one that deals with this specific circumstance came up on the ATP Miami entry thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridge46 View Post
Both Klizan and Haase withdrew before qualification was complete.

In this instant, the 2 LL are randomly drawn between the 3 highest ranked final qualifying round losers.
http://www.menstennisforums.com/34297633-post48.html

As the highest seed who made it to the final round of qualifying but did not win, I believe that Zeballos would've gotten a LL spot instead of Donaldson if Klizan or Haase had waited until qualifying was complete to withdraw.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_M...les#Qualifying
This thread has more than 15 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome