MensTennisForums.com - Reply to Topic

Thread: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread) Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MensTennisForums.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
07-22-2016 05:40 AM
MWW
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

@tennisfan3

That missing match was a Karlovic qualifying win over Djokovic, outside of the main draw.

See qualifying draw:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005_M...ualifying_draw

Also listed here: http://www.stevegtennis.com/head-to-.../Ivo_Karlovic/
07-22-2016 02:32 AM
doubletrollt
Re: Error on ATP site

Quote:
Originally Posted by redshift36188 View Post
I thought they used to have these matches listed on the event breakdown despite not counting for the H2H numbers.

EDIT: They still do it then but some matches are indeed missing, or could it be they have never entered the Qualifying matches, only the Challengers and Futures main draw matches?
I don't know about the past, but it is clear that currently they don't show Qualifying matches for older players.

e.g. Djokovic beat Wawrinka 63 61 in AO'05 Q2 but they just show their 2004 Aachen Challenger under Qualifying/Challenger/Futures, whereas they do show Coric' defeat to Lajovic in Rome'15 Q2 or win over De Bakker in USO'14 Q1.

http://www.atpworldtour.com/en/playe...ovic/W367/D643
07-22-2016 02:04 AM
redshift36188
Re: Error on ATP site

I just checked some Q matches from AO 2016 and they show up in the H2Hs. I wonder if they only started to add them since a certain year or if some matches are just randomly missing.
07-22-2016 01:56 AM
redshift36188
Re: Error on ATP site

Quote:
Originally Posted by doubletrollt View Post
Madrid'05 Q2

Since it's not a main draw match ...

But they also missed Q1 against F.Serra
I thought they used to have these matches listed on the event breakdown despite not counting for the H2H numbers.

EDIT: They still do it then but some matches are indeed missing, or could it be they have never entered the Qualifying matches, only the Challengers and Futures main draw matches?
07-22-2016 01:46 AM
doubletrollt
Re: Error on ATP site

Quote:
Originally Posted by redshift36188 View Post
Which match is missing?
Madrid'05 Q2 64 64

http://www.stevegtennis.com/draw-res..._Masters/2005/

But, since it was not a main draw match ...


They are also missing Dr. Ivo' successful Q1 operation on F.Serra thereafter, under Qualifying/ Challenger/Futures.

http://www.atpworldtour.com/en/playe...ovic/S963/K336

07-22-2016 01:40 AM
redshift36188
Re: Error on ATP site

Quote:
Originally Posted by nadalfan2013 View Post
They say that the head-to-head between Karlovic & Djokovic is 2-1 when in reality it's 3-1. Can anyone let them know? This is unprofessional, the info was probably typed and manipulated by some Djokovic fan employee.
Which match is missing?
07-22-2016 01:34 AM
MIMIC
Re: Error on ATP site

Quote:
Originally Posted by nadalfan2013 View Post
They say that the head-to-head between Karlovic & Djokovic is 2-1 when in reality it's 3-1. Can anyone let them know? This is unprofessional, the info was probably typed and manipulated by some Djokovic fan employee.
Better hurry up before we take away some of Nadal's slams.
07-22-2016 01:10 AM
nadalfan2013
Error on ATP site

They say that the head-to-head between Karlovic & Djokovic is 2-1 when in reality it's 3-1. Can anyone let them know? This is unprofessional, the info was probably typed and manipulated by some Djokovic fan employee.
07-08-2016 06:59 PM
Yves.
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Have there been successful, (semi) long-term doubles teams consisting of two left-handed players?
07-08-2016 12:59 PM
Beta2k
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridge46 View Post
This is very risky of him as he could be drawn against a WC/Q/LL/whatever in Round 1, and with showers being forecast in Hamburg next week, his Round 2 match could very well be pushed back.
yes, i think this is the reason why he said that he will go to the DC only if he loses first round.
07-08-2016 12:54 PM
fridge46
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

This is somewhat moot now because he doesnt appear on the Austria team anymore:

http://www.daviscup.com/en/draws-res...A-M-UKR-AUT-01

However he can still play DC given the right circumstances.

This situation is similar to a player entering Q of a World Tour event and GS for the same week. Theres going to be deadlines as to whether he is allowed to play for both.

The way I read the Davis Cup regulations is that the 10 day deadline is not important as nominations can change up to 1 hour before the draw is made (the draw has to be made at least 24 hours before play starts - Friday 1200 local for UKR/AUT). So in this situation, if Melzer wants to play both, he has to be eliminated in Hamburg by Wednesday evening. This is very risky of him as he could be drawn against a WC/Q/LL/whatever in Round 1, and with showers being forecast in Hamburg next week, his Round 2 match could very well be pushed back.

Of course, if he was to be eliminated, he is still contracted to that tournament for the week, which is way supervisors permission to play elsewhere is required - something that has already been granted.

I can't think of a situation where a player has played in DC and elsewhere in the same week, but I have seen players withdraw from events after the Main Draw was made to play DC - cf Dan Evans in Istanbul Challenger in September 2015.
07-08-2016 12:36 PM
Beta2k
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

yeah, he had to withdraw from DC squad in order to be allowed to play hamburg...
but there is still a loophole: the nominations can be changed until 1h before the DC draw is made. the DC draw is made on friday... so melzer could slip in still.
07-08-2016 12:26 PM
Beta2k
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

I have an update now regarding my question. thanks for the answers @Lukas15 and @fridge46

the article is available in german here: Davis Cup Auch Gerald Melzer gibt Hamburg den Vorzug gegenüber Länderkampf - at.tennisnet.com

it has some interesting statements from valuable sources regarding the issue of gerald melzer who slipped IN at hamburg tournament while being nominated for the daviscup match in the same week.

1) This tuesday was the deadline for nominating the davis cup squads. on tuesday evening, melzer got a call from the atp that there were enough withdrawals at Hamburg for him to get IN to the main draw. BUT it was a requirement, that he gets deleted from the nomination for the daviscup, else he would NOT have been allowed to play hamburg (german quote from the article: "Melzer wurde darum von der Nominierungsliste gestrichen, „wäre er genannt geblieben, hätte er in Hamburg nicht starten dürfen.“" => this means: melzer was removed from the davis cup nomination. had he remained on the list of davis cup nomination, he would not have been allowed to play hamburg)

2) after that, melzer said, that he will travel to the davis cup match, IF he loses the first round in hamburg. The CEO of the austrian tennis federeration says in the article, that, if melzer loses his first round in hamburg, he has to ask the ATP supervisor at hamburg, if he is allowed to travel to the davis cup and play there. according to the CEO of the austrian federation, it is very likely that the ATP will grant melzer to play the davis cup, however, it is not 100% sure.

discuss
07-08-2016 11:33 AM
fridge46
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

There is nothing in the rulebook that explicitly allows or forbids playing in a tournament and Davis Cup during the same week, but there is this line:

8.03N.1) - ".... Also tournament weeks do not include Grand Slam or Davis Cup weeks."

which could be interpreted to mean this practice is allowed.

However, in previous years when Davis Cup awarded Ranking Points, there was a rule which did allow playing in Davis Cup and another tournament held during the same period. From the 2015 Rulebook:

9.04C.3) - "If a player is a late substitution to the team and was released from another tournament that same week, he will not be eligible to earn points for that Davis Cup tie. A player only has the opportunity to earn points in one event per week."
07-08-2016 07:36 AM
Beta2k
Re: S.Q.T. (stupid question thread)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukas15 View Post
Yep, he wont be removed from Hamburg only because he received nomination. I remember one case from the past - on 19th Aug 2013 tnde(that time playing for Ukraine) signed for Banja Luka CH (to be played 9-15 Sep), while on 3rd Sep he was nominated for DC team to face Spain (13-15 Sep). Despite that he stayed on Banja Luka entry list, played it and reached QF.
yes, but he did not play the DC tie did he?
This thread has more than 15 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome