Was Mardy Fish right or wrong? - MensTennisForums.com
Rate this Entry

Was Mardy Fish right or wrong?

Posted 03-13-2012 at 05:47 PM by

From www.firstserveace.com and www.facebook.com/firstserveace

Mardy Fish down a set and break point at 4-4 in the 2nd hits a fantastic short cross court volley. As his opponent sprinted to the ball, and just before contact, Mardy yells "come on!" assuming he won the point. Ebden, his opponent immediately looks to the umpire to replay the point. The umpire agrees with Ebden and calls for a replay of the point due to obstruction. Mardy approaches the umpire to argue that his "come on" did not effect the outcome of the point. As always the umpire does not change his mind and tells Mardy that the rules state you can not yell out prior to the point being completed.

As we all remember this is very similar to Serena Williams last year at the US Open.

I watched the point 3 times and every time I feel Mardy called out too early. Ebden had a play on the ball and whether he would have made it or not is irrelevant. The rules are the rules. I have to agree with the umpire on this one.

I'm sure Mardy is more mad at himself today. He should know better then to yell out before the point is over.

What do you think? Was Mardy right wanting the point awarded to him or was the umpire correct?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mardy.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	29  
Posted in Uncategorized
Views 354 Comments 0 Email Blog Entry
« Prev     Main     Next »
Total Comments 0


Total Trackbacks 0


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome