Trouble gripping a tennis racquet [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Trouble gripping a tennis racquet

JoeyZ
02-24-2007, 08:32 PM
Hi Everyone, I am new to Mens Tennis Forums. I am a 4.0 level player. If I have a new over grip on my racquet I can play fine (hit out on my shots and handle the pace of my opponent) but sometimes I have trouble gripping the racquet when the grip is even a day or so old...I believe that this is partially due to the fact that my palms get rather sweaty.

I also play racquetball and I was wondering if playing tennis with my racquetball glove might help me keep my grip.

Please let me know if anyone has had trouble gripping a racquet and what you did to fix the problem...also has anyone ever tried using a racquetball glove and if it worked?? Thanks everyone!

JoeyZ

tennisplayer89
03-03-2007, 02:04 PM
First, I use Tourna grip. I think it handles sweat fairly well. Also, try wearing some wristbands. You would be surprised how much sweat runs down your arms and onto your grip.

HKz
03-04-2007, 12:20 AM
I used to have the same problem when I started tennis. What kind of overgrip do you use? The cheap black/rubber/design ones or whatever are terrible, so if you're using something like that, you should quit getting those. All I really did was grip the racket as hard as I could, and after a while I started gaining more strength in gripping the racket and later on it felt like I was like holding the racket lightly (although my hand is full of rips and tears). Plus these days I'm using leathergrips and this new kind of expensive wrap around overgrip which work quite well. (Leather has decent grip and it tears up your hand but you can only get leather if your racket comes with it originally *new ones don't really have*)

JoeyZ
03-05-2007, 03:54 PM
Hi HKz,