Federer mishits! [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Federer mishits!

coria1982
10-30-2006, 10:58 AM
Hey guys!
I am new to tennis, but when I watched some of Federers matches in Madrid 2 weeks ago, I noticed that he often misshits or at least more often than his opponents.
Someone has a slow motion video of such a missit. Whats happens exactly there?
Do you think it would help if the frame of his racket would be thinner there would be less misshits or does he not hit the balls with the frame at all.
At the normal speed I can not see anything sorry and i forgot to tape his matches.
Thanks for your answers.

Feketepuss
10-30-2006, 11:06 AM
Federer wins a top ranking tournament without dropping a set, only dropping serve once all week, and winning the final 7-5, 6-1, 6-0 and you feel he is mishitting more than his opponents? I think you should keep quiet in case he works out how to use a racket properly and never loses another match...

xtiano
10-30-2006, 11:20 AM
well, actually, he always misshits ^_^
got used to these misshits...

RonE
10-30-2006, 11:35 AM
He puts an awful lot of spin both on the forehand and also quite a bit on the backhand. His forehand swing motion if you look at a slow motion replay of it shows you how much torque he gets with the wrist coming over the ball- a lassoo whip type of action. On the backhand he brushes up at the ball imparting a lot of spin with the wrist flicking up. In both these motions he gets amazing racquet head speed and has exquisite timing. However, on a few rare occassions the timing is just off and because of all the above mentioned factors all it takes is a split second and the ball misses the sweet spot, hits the frame and goes flying.

TheMightyFed
10-30-2006, 11:37 AM
It's not the size of the frame, but it might be the fact that his eyes stays on the point on contact longer than others, which is a good thing overall but could lead to some mishits. There is one FH on Youtube during Wimby 04 I think.

Ernham