Player challenge question [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Player challenge question

senorgato
08-29-2006, 05:33 AM
Sorry if this has already been posted and sorry if some may see this as a stupid question.

But with the new challenge system, does that rid of the umpire's overrule?

MarieS
08-29-2006, 05:52 AM
No they can still overrule...I think the concern is that they'll be reluctant to do so cuz than the player can challenge it and if they're proven wrong they lose credibility.

senorgato
08-29-2006, 07:57 AM
I agree with your point, MarieS.

Which I see as a problem with the challenge system.

I was watching a match a week or so ago and the ball was at least 6 inches out, but was called in. The line judge clearly should have called it right the first time but didn't. And the umpire clearly should have overruled the call (since the line was right in front of him) but didn't. Immediately, the umpire looked at the player and basically asked him if he was going to challenge the call, instead of overruling the call.
So, instead of overruling appropriately (and my gut tells me the other player wouldn't have challenged the overrule since it was so far out), the umpire made the shotmaker to burn a challenge.

partygirl
08-29-2006, 08:26 AM
If they are not going to do their jobs i think we should look into electronic chair umps.

xinyu2006
08-29-2006, 10:29 AM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: