Federer, Bryans and Young win ITF awards

06-07-2006, 02:37 PM
Court, Federer and Clijsters honoured in Paris

Margaret Court, Roger Federer and Kim Clijsters were presented with their awards at the prestigious ITF World Champions Dinner at the Pavillion d'Armenonville in Paris on Tuesday 6th June.

Margaret Court was awarded the ITF's highest accolade, the Philippe Chatrier Award in recognition of her outstanding achievements in the game of tennis. When she retired in 1976, Court had become the most prolific major title winner in history, collecting 64 Grand Slam titles - 24 in singles, 16 in doubles and 24 in mixed doubles.

Switzerland's Roger Federer received the award for the second consecutive year after a 2005 season that saw him win his third Wimbledon title and second US Open title.

First time recipient, Kim Clijsters (BEL) was recognised after returning from a career-threatening injury to win her first Grand Slam title at the US Open and a tour-high nine other titles. She also helped keep Belgium in the elite Fed Cup World Group.

USA's Bob and Mike Bryan received the honour for the third time after finishing 2005 as the No. 1 doubles team in a season that saw then win five titles including the US Open.

Lisa Raymond (USA) and Samantha Stosur (AUS) formed a new and immediately successful partnership in the latter half of 2005. In their short time together they took five titles in just five months, including the US Open, an achievement recognised with the World Champions doubles trophy at last night's dinner.

ITF World Champions in junior and wheelchair tennis were also recognised. Donald Young (USA) in junior boys, Viktoria Azarenka (BLR) in junior girls and Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) and Esther Vergeer (NED) in wheelchair tennis.

http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/image/gallery/IO_20702_gallery.GIF http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/image/gallery/IO_20701_gallery.GIF http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/image/gallery/IO_20704_gallery.GIF