TMC Report!! [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

TMC Report!!

jmp
11-13-2003, 06:58 AM
PART I

Wednesday Night/Thursday Morning - Midnight Central Standard Time

Hello MensTennisForums.com!

I’ve missed you guys. I hope you’re all having fun watching the television coverage of the TMC. I’m having a blast! This is my first attempt at reporting from a live event. So, ask me whatever you think I can answer. I think you all know the results of the matches. So, I’ll talk about them a little bit. But, I’ll try to write about the atmosphere of the event.

By now, the tape delay of Andre/JCF has aired and you know that JCF is out of the running for year end #1. :bigcry: :bigcry: I was so upset about this outcome that I left before the doubles started. :sad: :sad: It gave me a chance to eat a real dinner here in Houston AND Andre really stepped up his game to turn the match around. Congratulations, Andre!! :bounce:

Westside Tennis Club/Furniture Gallery Stadium. This is such an intimate and cozy venue! It’s set right in a neighborhood with regular stores, homes, and apartments. I came to Houston a little over a month ago to drive the route from my efficiency apartment to the stadium and make sure I knew where everything was. The stadium was still under construction and a person at the desk told me about the parking and the fees. I thought I’d cheat and park in a grocery store parking lot and walk. When I got here Saturday, there were police officers in uniform and other plain clothes people to make sure that didn’t happen. I didn’t want to come back to an empty parking space and an impound fee. So, I paid for the $5 parking and started hiking a mile and a half each way to the gate. Well, I found out about the free shuttle on Sunday night. That made life a lot nicer! :cool: Then yesterday someone told me if I got there early enough I could park for free in a huge grass lot right next to the $5 area and still take the shuttle. That worked out fine today! :D