Masters Cup rules question [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Masters Cup rules question

mecir72
12-05-2005, 08:41 PM
I have a question about the masters cup that perhaps someone can help me with.
Agassi pulled out of the masters and gonzales came in and almost qualified playing only 2 matches.
Now what would happen if a player with two wins gets injured in practice before his third match? He could of course walk on court an retire after one game and then hope that is enough to take him to the semis and that he'll recover in time. However there will be no walkover if he decides he cant play will there? Then an alternate comes in and the other player is out right?
Now the main question is, can the alternate qualify?
If he wins the remaining match he would have a better record than other one win players in the group. Does it work like that?

El Legenda
12-05-2005, 08:50 PM
So ur say is

Player A: 2-0 and pulls out
Player B: 2-1
Player C: 1-2
Player D: 0-3

Altenate comes in- 1-0

so player B goes to SF and then its between player C and Alt, then the player with most sets won goes.

mecir72
12-05-2005, 09:50 PM
But it is the percentage of sets won that counts I think. That would mean the alternate goes through.

mecir72
12-05-2005, 10:22 PM
So ur say is

Player B: 2-1

Altenate comes in- 1-0

so player B goes to SF and then its between player C and Alt, then the player with most sets won goes.
Actually what I mean is:
Player B: 2-0
Player A and B to meet in final match, instead alternate comes in and beats player B.
That gives the alternate a better percentage of sets won and no head to head with player C.
But what about the case if player A plays and retired during the match against player B. Can he still play the semis?

El Legenda
12-05-2005, 10:28 PM
Player E would have no chance vs play B in the last match. :rolls: that help?

are you sure its the tiebreaker is % of sets and or the total sets won, of the total difference between sets won and lost