A Simple Question [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

A Simple Question

smartminddesi
09-06-2005, 07:11 PM
I've been watching tennis for quite some time but never paid much attention to this. What's the deal with overrule and replaying a point? Sometimes after a overrule the players replay the point and sometimes a point is awarded to the winner. Has this got something to do with the server offering to replay?

adee-gee
09-06-2005, 07:14 PM
I've been watching tennis for quite some time but never paid much attention to this. What's the deal with overrule and replaying a point? Sometimes after a overrule the players replay the point and sometimes a point is awarded to the winner. Has this got something to do with the server offering to replay?

If Roddick hits a 145mph ace on the line which is called out, but overruled as good then they would usually give him the point, as it is unlikely that the opponent could've done anything even if the call had not been made. If a ball is incorrectly called out during a point while a rally is going on they will replay the point.

smartminddesi
09-06-2005, 07:19 PM
sounds about right. so they always replay a point if the overrule is during a rally?

adee-gee
09-06-2005, 07:20 PM
sounds about right. so they always replay a point if the overrule is during a rally?

If someone has reached a ball and has a shot at it, then a call is made which is overruled then they would usually replay the point. If a probable winner is hit which is called out but then overruled as in, then the point would probably be given.

smartminddesi
09-06-2005, 07:22 PM
okay, got it. thx adee-gee :) .

smartminddesi
09-06-2005, 11:03 PM
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right? and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?

TheBoiledEgg
09-06-2005, 11:10 PM
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right?

no, there's two diff linesmen who do that ;)



and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?

cos they turn the cyclops off ;)

and a let can happen a million times as long as the ball still lands inside the opponents service box, you still get your 1,000,001st attempt :lol:

buddyholly
09-06-2005, 11:15 PM
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right? and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?

Cyclops only buzzes if the ball is slightly long, because it only looks at a small area close to the line. If the ball is well long cyclops does not see it at all.
It could also be turned off. Sometimes it seems to not work very well and by agreement, is turned off.

smartminddesi
09-06-2005, 11:20 PM
thx. that makes sense :) .

buddyholly
09-06-2005, 11:20 PM
one more noob question. a linesperson calls both a serve long and foot fault right? and sometimes a buzzer goes off after a serve is long (is that an electronic machine?). why does it work only sometimes then? and can a 'let' happen twice and still considered not a fault?

It IS theoretically possible for the same linesman to call a serve wide and a foot fault. This would occur if the player's foot crosses the centre line and the linesman on the other side of the net calls it.
But the foot fault call comes first and thereafter no in or out call is necessary.

smartminddesi
09-06-2005, 11:23 PM
no, i wasn't talking about a serve that is both wide and foot faulted. i was just saying that a linesperson make those calls.

btw, is cyclops only used in grandslams?