Tennis Rule Question. [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Tennis Rule Question.

The Pro
08-11-2005, 03:00 PM
What's the rule for when during a match, the ball comes over your way and you hit it twice to get it over the net.

-obviously not 'thump', then run after it and 'thump' again to give it a helping hand, but when you hit the ball and know that the hit doesn't feel right, and you end up scooping the ball in an unrealistic manner.

I think if it's unintentional then it should be ok, but my brother says it's a double hit and NOT allowed.

How would they guage intention anyway?

What's the rule?

Experimentee
08-11-2005, 03:17 PM
Its not allowed whether it was intentional or not.

David Kenzie
08-11-2005, 03:36 PM
The rules state that only an intentional double hit is a fault. At least that's what I read on the french tennis federation website.

David Kenzie
08-11-2005, 03:42 PM
Just checked it in the USTA website aswell.

http://dps.altdc3.va.twimm.net/usta_master/usta/doc/content/doc_13_4198.pdf
check rule 24.e.

and this USTA comment :

USTA Comment 24.5: Does a player lose a point if the ball hits
his racket twice during one swing? No. Only when there is a definite
and deliberate “second push” by the player does the shot become
illegal. “Deliberately” is the key word in this rule. Two hits occurring
during a single continuous swing are not deemed a double hit.

superpinkone37
08-11-2005, 03:54 PM
Sometimes when you hit the ball, it feels dead and like, rolls on the racquet, maybe hits some rim and it feels like a double hit. You can feel that something is not right, but as long as it is not like the ball hit on your strings and you hit it again, its fine.

megadeth
08-11-2005, 10:58 PM
bottom line is a double hit is okay if it was unintentional and the player only executed one swinging motion.

mitalidas
08-11-2005, 11:10 PM
Just checked it in the USTA website aswell.

http://dps.altdc3.va.twimm.net/usta_master/usta/doc/content/doc_13_4198.pdf
check rule 24.e.

and this USTA comment :

USTA Comment 24.5: Does a player lose a point if the ball hits
his racket twice during one swing? No. Only when there is a definite
and deliberate “second push” by the player does the shot become
illegal. “Deliberately” is the key word in this rule. Two hits occurring
during a single continuous swing are not deemed a double hit.

thanks for a definitive (and official) answer. interesting question, The Pro

The Pro
08-12-2005, 01:43 PM
Wasn't it? :D

Now my brother can stop hassling me, it maybe shouldn't be allowed, but it is, and means I can compete against his power with unintentional jammy-ness.

All good.

mitalidas
08-12-2005, 01:54 PM
Wasn't it? :D

Now my brother can stop hassling me, it maybe shouldn't be allowed, but it is, and means I can compete against his power with unintentional jammy-ness.

All good.

we can all start practising those double hits which look unintentional but are in fact planned

max122
08-12-2005, 02:24 PM
oh come on , it only happens once in a great while... I think the rule makes sense.. if you happen to hit the ball by accident .. the ball skid off the raq that its ok .. not just intentionally double hit the ball.. :)

The Pro
08-13-2005, 07:17 AM
we can all start practising those double hits which look unintentional but are in fact planned

I like your thinking....can't think where you got it from.

Vass
08-13-2005, 08:57 AM
we can all start practising those double hits which look unintentional but are in fact planned
Let's all practice always putting the ball inside the court the regular way first... :p

federer express
08-13-2005, 12:34 PM
Its not allowed whether it was intentional or not.

it is fine...if its all in the same motion or swing

mitalidas
08-13-2005, 01:46 PM
Let's all practice always putting the ball inside the court the regular way first... :p
yeah, haha ... good point :yeah: