Rule Question (touching of the net during play) [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Rule Question (touching of the net during play)

for-sure
08-09-2005, 02:07 AM
This may sound like a silly question but a friend is driving me crazy claiming that you can touch the net during a point ONCE (without losing the point) but not TWICE. He claims he heard a commentator say it during a particular tennis telecast. Can someone else support my claim that what he heard had to have been WRONG!

For-Sure.

Fee
08-09-2005, 02:12 AM
Wrong, but I'm sure you can find the USTA rulebook (or the rulebook of whatever country you live in) online to support your argument. Due to my sucky connection, I can't be of much help to you, sorry.

for-sure
08-09-2005, 05:01 AM
Wrong, but I'm sure you can find the USTA rulebook (or the rulebook of whatever country you live in) online to support your argument. Due to my sucky connection, I can't be of much help to you, sorry.
Thank you! :) :worship: :worship:

NYCtennisfan
08-09-2005, 05:18 AM
"The player or the racket, whether in the player’s hand or not, or anything
which the player is wearing or carrying touches the net, net
posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the opponent’s
court at any time while the ball is in play" loses the point.

From the USTA.

http://dps.altdc3.va.twimm.net/usta_master/usta/doc/content/doc_13_4198.pdf