Why are they called "Grand Slams"? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Why are they called "Grand Slams"?

Stevens Point
06-09-2005, 01:42 AM
Why are Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open called "Grand Slams"? Who started saying this? Has anyone thought about this? Why "Grand Slams"?? Or am I the only one here who doesn't know it???

Your answers will be appreciated, thank you. :worship:

Sjengster
06-09-2005, 01:45 AM
Originally they were just called the major championships of tennis, and then this phrase "doing the Grand Slam" was coined by a journalist in the 20s or 30s, referring to winning all four majors in the same year. The idea gradually took hold, I suppose, but I'm no expert on the historical aspect. A couple of traditionalists still right into ACE tennis magazine now and then complaining that the term "Grand Slam" has been misused to refer to each individual major, rather than the calendar Slam.

buddyholly
06-09-2005, 01:47 AM
Why are Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open called "Grand Slams"? Who started saying this? Has anyone thought about this? Why "Grand Slams"?? Or am I the only one here who doesn't know it???

Your answers will be appreciated, thank you. :worship:

It comes from the game of Bridge, where winning 12 of 13 tricks in a deal is a Small Slam and winning 13 of 13 tricks is a Grand Slam.

Originally it was applied just to winning all four of the major tournaments (a Grand Slam) and eventually the tournaments themselves were called Grand Slam tournaments.

buddyholly
06-09-2005, 01:52 AM
To add to Sjengster, winning just one or two of the 4 majors is really nothing, but now that they are called Slam tournaments, people refer to winning a Slam.
I suppose winning three of the four could be called a Small Slam, but the term Grand Slam should be reserved for winning all four, no matter what names people now give to the tournaments.

Stevens Point
06-09-2005, 01:53 AM