Interesting tidbits from Brad's book [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Interesting tidbits from Brad's book

tangerine_dream
10-06-2004, 02:00 AM
I am reading Brad's current Nobel-prize winning book, "I've Got Your Back", and came across this intriguing passage. Anybody care to take a guess as to which player he's talking about? ;)

"Tennis players are always looking for a winning edge, so hiring a coach makes sense. But there's always some fly in the ointment. Take the case of a top player I talked to a few years ago, post Andre and pre-Andy. His agent initially called me and I talked with the agent a couple of times. Then the agent said, "You really need to speak to _____."

So I spoke to him. The conversation lasted around one minute. It turned out the whole thing had been the agent's idea. The player just said, "I'm happy with the way things are."

"Ok," I said (I'm a coach, not a salesman)

"Man, you'd be too hard for me," the player said.

"You don't even know me," I said.

"I'm happy," he said.

"You're really happy?" I said. This guy has a ton of talent, but was underachieving like crazy.

"Yeah, I'm happy," the player said. "I don't want to be number 1."

Whoa, I thought. The truth at last. At that point there was really nothing else to say. (Now the guy is just travelling with his buddy, wasting his talent. So he'll get his wish: he'll never be No. 1)."

----

So what do you all make of this? Who do you think it is? I'm thinking it's Marat.

Deboogle!.
10-06-2004, 02:06 AM
I would tend to think so too

but omg is Brad's whole book written like this at this level??? :sobbing:

PennyThePenguin
10-06-2004, 02:15 AM
like i've said on msn...DIE BRAD DIE!!! marat wouldn't work with you even if u PAID him!

Havok
10-06-2004, 02:22 AM
IT sounds exactly like Safin.:haha:

Deboogle!.
10-06-2004, 02:22 AM
Jiat, tell us how you really feel! ;)

star
10-06-2004, 02:29 AM
Brad is such a self promoter and braggart it's really sort of sickening.