Gulbis with a dig at Spanish players? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Gulbis with a dig at Spanish players?

L James
10-07-2009, 11:23 PM
Ernie with a few comments after his R1 win:

The 21-year-old son of a Riga multi-millionaire, said to fly to some tournaments in a private jet, produced a superb performance of controlled power to brush aside his Czech opponent.

"Unfortunately I started playing well at the end of the season," Gulbis told reporters. "I was playing like a Spanish player -- two metres behind the baseline doing nothing."

The Latvian credited new Argentine coach Hernan Gumy, once mentor to former world number one Marat Safin, for his reversal of fortune.

"He has given me a lot of tips to get back my game," said Gulbis, yet to win back-to-back games on the ATP Tour this year.

"I'm playing my game, being more aggressive. Things have stabilised now. Tennis is a game of confidence. When you win, you don't think. I thought too much before."

"I have a couple of more tournaments this year. But even if I lose, then I will have a good off-season practice and next year I'm going to come back. I'm going to play the same and I hope I can play better than I did today.

"I don't see the reason why I shouldn't play better and better... I hope to reach top 10 (in the) next two years' time," added the Latvian.

rubbERR
10-07-2009, 11:27 PM
gulbis controlled power = shot 10 meters out when played outdoors, indoors they barely stay in, luckily there has been raining all week tokyo so indoor conditions helped him :lol:

Corey Feldman
10-07-2009, 11:29 PM
:lol: good one Ernie

Clay Death
10-07-2009, 11:35 PM
Ernie with a few comments after his R1 win:

well to be brutally exact, some of the spanish players have achieved hell of a lot more than he has so it would be better to just keep his trap shut at least until he starts to show that he can win something.