First Impressions [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

First Impressions

bleu_cheese
06-11-2009, 05:25 AM
I'm relatively new to tennis, at least compared to most posters on MTF, who have been watching the sport since 1893. Anyways, my question is... How important are first impressions?

Here's an example. The first tennis match I watched seriously was between Murray and Gasquet in some American Masters tournament a few years back. Gasquet won the match, and impressed me with his attitude, at least in comparison with the screaming Murray. However, I can't help but wonder whether I'd be a fan of Murray had he won the match.

What do you think? If you watch a player for the first time, do you form an opinion instantly, or do you hold your judgment?

Arkulari
06-11-2009, 05:30 AM
if I see a player I like instantly, I start follow him and check for myself if he is what I thought he was, if not, I just simply stop follow their career :shrug:

Har-Tru
06-11-2009, 05:47 AM
first impressions are deceiving... I tend to wait till I see some matches before I make a judgement.

Lebeuf
06-11-2009, 06:35 AM
I remember in 2003 I watched a Federer match against one of the top player at the time but can't remember which one , I just didnt knew who Federer was at the time but he was ranked number 3 , that i remember like it was yesterday.Well he played like a God and I instantly became a fan.Im glad I saw the career of Federer cause who knows when we'll see another one like him.Nobody seems to have the talent he was showing way back.

As for the first impression thing , sometimes it's not the tennis in itself but just the ''character'' , but sometimes it is the tennis.To take Murray as an example , the first time I saw him played I immediately hate him to death.His face and uncool look , his very annoying COME ON , listen Andy , you got millions of $ and you are a good tennis player but you just don't have ''it''.