Has any player lost in more than their 4 first slam finals in one event? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Has any player lost in more than their 4 first slam finals in one event?

RonE
06-10-2009, 12:53 PM
Usually, if a player does not win a specific grand slam in the first 3 attempts he makes the final, the 4-th time is the lucky charm.

Most recent example of course is Roger Federer, who after having lost his first 3 RG finals won it on his 4th final showing.

Ivanisevic lost his first three Wimbledon finals (1992, 1994, 1998) before winning the fourth in 2001.

Lendl lost his first three USO finals (1982, 1983, 1984) and won in 1985.

The only exception to this rule I can think of off the top of my head is Ken Rosewall who contested the Wimbledon final 4 times and lost all 4. Can anyone think of any other player that has done this?

finishingmove
06-10-2009, 01:02 PM
borg lost 4 uso finals