Help! My forehand is killing me [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Help! My forehand is killing me

TrueTheo364
09-23-2007, 05:55 PM
Hey I'm just wondering if anyone knows how to avoid hand injuries; every time I play tennis my tennis hand gets terrible tendonitis. This is a fairly recent development, it never used to happen but as far as I can tell my game never changed. I am a newbie tennis player (playing for about 1 year) and learned how to play entirely through trial and error.

Here's what I know: The tendons on my tennis hand get pulled every time I hit a forehand (especially my index finger), but don't seem to get stressed when I hit backhands. Interestingly, my forehand is a weak shot with a large amount of topspin, and I can't seem smash forehand hits that should be winners. The only time I can generate good speed on my forehand is when I have to hit a low ball.

However, my backhand has no such problem. I can rip backhand winners with no trouble, while my forehand continues to be a weaker shot and continually pulls my tendons... I use a semi-western grip and am completely out of ideas on how to revamp my forehand. Anyone got any ideas? I'd really appreciate it.

GlennMirnyi
09-24-2007, 02:29 AM
Go get a coach, you'll get a pretty bad injury like that. You shouldn't feel any pulling as you describe. If you do, you're doing something very wrong.

TrueTheo364
09-24-2007, 03:50 AM
I'll look into the coach. I'll have to see if there are any good ones in my area that might be able to help me.

I guess what I'm wondering is if anyone has any ideas why my tendons are being worked so hard?

trixtah
09-24-2007, 08:11 AM
I'll look into the coach. I'll have to see if there are any good ones in my area that might be able to help me.

I guess what I'm wondering is if anyone has any ideas why my tendons are being worked so hard?

You should probably actually ask a doctor, that would be best. Ouch :/

Horatio Caine
09-24-2007, 12:38 PM