Advice from some Fellow Gamblers [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Advice from some Fellow Gamblers

stable unit
08-21-2007, 10:30 PM
Hi there guys,

Currently im a student (Birmngham Uni doing Biology) and i'll be heading back for my final year in October. After that im thinking of taking a gap year, half to travel and half to seriously look into this long term.

Its a pipe dream at the moment, but i enjoy tennis betting (even the losses i try to learn from). I dont post all my results on here, because i do a fair bit of flip-flopping in play. I have had success though over the last 12-18 months, which has helped me out at uni. Although i think it took a good year or two at least to break even initially. I guess the 'challenge' is the most appealing factor in this tennis lark, but whether i could be successful who knows :shrug: (i dont expect miracles).

1) I bet a certain % of my bankroll dependant on the odds if i like the play. Roughly speaking
2 units @1.6
1 unit @2ish
0.5 unit@3

Would you advise keeping this strategy or do you bet always to win a certain amount i.e 1 unit.

2) Are you full time at this? The main problem holding me back is the unsocial hours and solitariness. I'll have to work on that in the long term, we'll see how it goes. I might post this in the Gambler's Lounge later tonight.

Any reply would be helpful
Adam
:wavey:

edit: (I sent a PM to Bad Gambler and Jez who told me to post it here for advice)

jayjay
08-22-2007, 08:35 PM
Not really sure what you are asking here other than the unit plays. Re: That matter, if what you have been doing is working for you, then stick with it. If not, then look at making adjustments.

Re: Fulltime - Gambling doesn't make for unsocial hours (it means you set your own hours, you don't have to be 'working' everyday), unless you are looking to trade every match you don't necessarily have to be watching each and everyone, and if you're playing each and everyone it's not a good idea anyway.