Did Andy break the rules? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Did Andy break the rules?

supersexynadal
09-12-2006, 08:31 PM
Sorry couldnt think of a better title :rolleyes:


But during the US open he always got up before the chair said time. The commentator made a huge deal out of it saying that he gets more time to advertize the sponsirs since he got up first. That pathetic, stupid rule. Im surprized the ATP didnt mention anything coz before every match the umpire tells the players not to get up until he calls 'time'

Deboogle!.
09-12-2006, 08:35 PM
OMFG :haha: Andy is antsy, he gets up because he can't sit still. He does it every single time he plays. And anyway, in the US we have commercials on every single changeover anyway, so that doesn't even make sense that he is doing it to show his sponsors. He does it during matches that are not televised, so honestly.

Run out of stuff to bag him for, so we have to go to something like this now????

adee-gee
09-12-2006, 08:37 PM
:haha:

Lock him up, what a disgrace.

Tytta!.
09-12-2006, 08:38 PM
It must be one of the funniest threads ever.

MarieS
09-12-2006, 08:40 PM
yeah, I can't believe he kept doing that. He's such a disgrace to the sport.


:rolleyes:

Sjengster
09-12-2006, 08:40 PM
MTF would seem to be Goldilocks and Nadal and Roddick the first two of the Three Bears. "This one was too slow... and this one was too fast... and this one was JUST RIGHT!"

Deboogle!.
09-12-2006, 08:40 PM
MTF would seem to be Goldilocks and Nadal and Roddick the first two of the Three Bears. "This one was too slow... and this one was too fast... and this one was JUST RIGHT!":haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha:

rofe
09-12-2006, 08:43 PM
As others have pointed out, he has a lot of nervous energy, just like Nadal. Nothing to do with sponsorship.

DC and the masters series couldn't be here sooner. At least we can talk about those tournaments.

Saumon
09-12-2006, 08:43 PM
Sorry couldnt think of a better title :rolleyes:


But during the US open he always got up before the chair said time. The commentator made a huge deal out of it saying that he gets more time to advertize the sponsirs since he got up first. That pathetic, stupid rule. Im surprized the ATP didnt mention anything coz before every match the umpire tells the players not to get up until he calls 'time'
I've been to plenty of matches and I've never heard the umpire saying that :confused:

Deboogle!.
09-12-2006, 08:48 PM
I've been to plenty of matches and I've never heard the umpire saying that :confused:Usually for televised matches they will say something like "we have television changeovers so please try to stay in your seats until time" - but I don't recall it being stated as if it is a rule that breaking would get into trouble. Andy's been doing it long and often enough so that if it was a problem, surely he would've been informed ;)

supersexynadal
09-12-2006, 08:53 PM
Saumon i always hear it when the he tosses the coin...

I dont see anything wrong with it, i dunno y many ppl assume that but i just find it funny that this relaxes his nerves a little. If anything, id always like rest longer especially if i just lost serve or something.

Deboogle!.
09-12-2006, 08:54 PM
Maybe your commentators are just stupid like most of the rest of the commentators :p

It's funny though, that they brought up sponsorship, since in the US on the changeovers we get ad breaks, and in a lot of the USO ad breaks were.... Andy in Amex commericals, Andy in Lexus commercials, Andy in USTA/USO commercials..... :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha:

Seriously though, I think the issue is more that they don't want BOTH players to start before time has called because the tv networks are using that to time their commercial breaks. In the US sometimes they will start a few sec early and we will miss the first point of a game. It's not a rule for the ATP or whatever, it is to help the TV people :)

atheneglaukopis
09-12-2006, 08:54 PM
MTF would seem to be Goldilocks and Nadal and Roddick the first two of the Three Bears. "This one was too slow... and this one was too fast... and this one was JUST RIGHT!":haha:

lordmanji
09-12-2006, 09:06 PM
i thought this thread would be about roddick challenging the in call on his own serve...

supersexynadal
09-12-2006, 09:06 PM
Maybe your commentators are just stupid like most of the rest of the commentators

It's funny though, that they brought up sponsorship, since in the US on the changeovers we get ad breaks, and in a lot of the USO ad breaks were.... Andy in Amex commericals, Andy in Lexus commercials, Andy in USTA/USO commercials.....

Seriously though, I think the issue is more that they don't want BOTH players to start before time has called because the tv networks are using that to time their commercial breaks. In the US sometimes they will start a few sec early and we will miss the first point of a game. It's not a rule for the ATP or whatever, it is to help the TV people

Thats strange, here we NEVER get ads, not even between matches and if theres a rain delay, they just show the wet courts and every half an hour the guy would say, and this is how the courts look like at the us open in the billy jean king national tennis center!! Wow theyre trying to make us feel that were in new york or something :rolleyes:

DrJules
09-12-2006, 09:13 PM
Sorry couldnt think of a better title :rolleyes:


But during the US open he always got up before the chair said time. The commentator made a huge deal out of it saying that he gets more time to advertize the sponsirs since he got up first. That pathetic, stupid rule. Im surprized the ATP didnt mention anything coz before every match the umpire tells the players not to get up until he calls 'time'

Is this a joke thread :lol: :lol: :lol:

Maybe he should have remained seated and eaten a banana.

tangerine_dream
09-12-2006, 09:13 PM
i thought this thread would be about roddick challenging the in call on his own serve...
Yeah, can somebody explain what happened there? Why would Andy challenge his serve being in? I missed that part. :confused:

Winston's Human
09-12-2006, 09:16 PM
Yeah, can somebody explain what happened there? Why would Andy challenge his serve being in? I missed that part. :confused:

Because it was a first serve and Roger had made a winning return on that serve.

marifline
09-12-2006, 09:20 PM
Saumon i always hear it when the he tosses the coin...

I dont see anything wrong with it, i dunno y many ppl assume that but i just find it funny that this relaxes his nerves a little. If anything, id always like rest longer especially if i just lost serve or something.

There would be a real problem if both players got up and started playing before the chair said time..but if only one of them do so or even if both do, if no one actually starts to play there is no problem. It's only a question of commercials timing so... ass on the chair or on the court it's all the same

Deboogle!.
09-12-2006, 10:28 PM
Because it was a first serve and Roger had made a winning return on that serve.Well, he didn't go for the return because he seemed to think his serve was out, I think he probably could've gotten a racquet on it, even if he hadn't gotten it back in play. It was a brain cramp, he does that from time to time. But I saw Bob and Martina do it the night before. Bob I think challenged one of his own serves, and it was way more in than Andy's was the following day :haha:

Sjengster
09-12-2006, 10:32 PM
In the QFs on the Thursday he challenged a serve down the T from Cermak that was in by absolutely miles, and promptly clutched his hands to his face in embarrassment.

Deboogle!.
09-12-2006, 10:36 PM
In the QFs on the Thursday he challenged a serve down the T from Cermak that was in by absolutely miles, and promptly clutched his hands to his face in embarrassment.Really? :haha: His serve in the Mixed dubs final was way way in and nowhere near either line on the T either, that's so hilarious. He was embarrassed then as well. Poor Bob :haha:

star
09-13-2006, 12:46 AM
I don't think there is a rule that says you MUST sit down at a change over. You can stand up the whole time... and sometimes players who are cramping do just that.

partygirl
09-13-2006, 01:02 AM
I love his inability to sit still, i just find it funny from time to time when he is pacing like a caged tiger chewing on towels and the opponent
is sitting trying to ignore it (how can you not notice)

-if i played it would probably piss me off but i don't so i enjoy it.

jcempire
09-13-2006, 04:21 AM
And, funny

renee_chin
09-13-2006, 05:36 AM
:haha: :haha: :haha:

I recall some umpires telling Andy that if he wants to get up early, it's OK - certainly he's not breaking any rules there, or were the umps wrong?! :scratch:

p.s. I love this thread :hearts:

controlfreak
09-13-2006, 10:31 AM
I think they should definitely enforce the sitting down thing, maybe they could have the ballboys strap the players down into the chairs by their arms and legs? Or else put a big magnet in all the players' pants and magnetize them down to the chair during changeovers.

oz_boz
09-13-2006, 10:39 AM
Yeah, can somebody explain what happened there? Why would Andy challenge his serve being in? I missed that part. :confused:

:haha:

That was too funny.

feuselino
09-13-2006, 10:50 AM
As others have pointed out, he has a lot of nervous energy, just like Nadal.

Not to forget Hewitt... that guy can't sit still for a second! :)

Roger on the other hand looks like he is about to fall asleep during changover, compared to those guys at least... :)

Eve83
09-13-2006, 02:09 PM
Eh?

I try not to be mean so I will just post the real reason behind this unbelievable behavior: For once - like other people mentioned - he cannot not move, I think he will die if you ask him to sit still for a minute. Furthermore it´s his way of showing the opponent that he´s on and ready to go even without the need of a rest.

Pigpen Stinks
09-13-2006, 02:24 PM
What no one has pointed out is this:-

After the change overs in one of the night matches, Hewitt was ready to serve,(he had come out early) and so was Roddick ready to receive.

BUT

a ball boy was standing in the service court and he was waiting for the TV guy to signal for them to say they had finished their ad break.
The Ball boy then moved and they could start play

:eek: :eek:

Nice pick up, Judio. This thread is kind of funny, but it never dawned on me that when TV comes back having missed the first point after a changeover that it's because the players got up too quickly. I always assumed that the television network was just being a bit greedy with their advertising time space. Also, doesn't it always seem that whenever they're late coming back, it's never during a point, but always after the first, or even in some cases the second point?

supersexynadal
09-13-2006, 04:50 PM
Nice pick up, Judio. This thread is kind of funny, but it never dawned on me that when TV comes back having missed the first point after a changeover that it's because the players got up too quickly. I always assumed that the television network was just being a bit greedy with their advertising time space. Also, doesn't it always seem that whenever they're late coming back, it's never during a point, but always after the first, or even in some cases the second point?

What do u mean during the second and first point but not inbetween the point?? :confused: They only take a sip of water or soemthing if theyre changng ends in a tie break. Dont get what r trying to say

Pigpen Stinks
09-13-2006, 04:55 PM
Who said anything about a tiebreaker? I was talking about after a changeover when they come back from commercial break. My point was that whenever they miss any action, they come back between points, rarely in the middle of a rally.

celia
09-13-2006, 04:56 PM
i thought this thread would be about roddick challenging the in call on his own serve...
did he do that? i must have missed the moment.

Deboogle!.
09-13-2006, 05:29 PM
What no one has pointed out is this:-

After the change overs in one of the night matches, Hewitt was ready to serve,(he had come out early) and so was Roddick ready to receive.

BUT

a ball boy was standing in the service court and he was waiting for the TV guy to signal for them to say they had finished their ad break.
The Ball boy then moved and they could start play

:eek: :eek:oh wow, really? We wouldn't have seen that in the US since we have the commercials, but that's crazy. If the players are ready they should be able to play, and if we miss part of a point, I guess that just sucks for us lol