Long Drop's bad start to the grass season....? [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

Long Drop's bad start to the grass season....?

Trivial
06-10-2006, 06:33 PM
Was just scanning through the qualifying results for Queens and noticed that Ivo Karlovic retired 1 set up against Bogomolov :
A Bogomolov Df. I.Karlovic 0-6 4-2 (Ret.)
I dont particularily enjoy his style of playing but it is sad to see last years finalist be forced to drop out due illness/injury...anybody have any news on this?
Even though Ivo has turned into a clay specialist this year his best surface is most probably grass (never seen him on carpet...would imagine he's pretty special on that aswell though) and it would be a shame if he had to miss the relatively short grass season due to reasons uncontrolled by him.

Would welcome any news on this.... Danke.

Deboogle!.
06-10-2006, 06:51 PM
I don't understand why he didn't just enter the main draw.

in any case, what a weird scoreline to bagel someone (esp Ivo :eek: ) then have to retire. Hopefully it's nothing serious for him but he's gonna lose a buttload of points.

wally1
06-10-2006, 06:52 PM
i saw the last few games of this, and Ivo was putting ice on his left knee. His last couple of service games (which he lost) he was moving very badly - serving and staying back...

Trivial
06-10-2006, 06:55 PM
i saw the last few games of this, and Ivo was putting ice on his left knee. His last couple of service games (which he lost) he was moving very badly - serving and staying back...

No suprises he was down that break then.... thanks for the report Wally! :)

And yes i couldnt understand why he decided to go through the qualification stages...maybe he thought he needed match play to get his game totally ready after the clay? :confused: Surely he'd have gained entry into the main draw due to being last year's finalist, rite?

Anyways, hope that knee gets better soon...he'll need to have a good Wimbledon to make up for all the points lost here.

Deboogle!.
06-10-2006, 07:13 PM
Surely he'd have gained entry into the main draw due to being last year's finalist, rite? Well not b/c he was last year's finalist, but because his ranking was simply high enough to get direct entry. He had to have made this decision 6 weeks ago, he couldn't have known how most of his clay season was gonna turn out, so if he did this on purpose (as opposed to simply forgetting to enter or something), I think that was a miscalculation on his part.

Trivial
06-10-2006, 08:01 PM
Well not b/c he was last year's finalist, but because his ranking was simply high enough to get direct entry. He had to have made this decision 6 weeks ago, he couldn't have known how most of his clay season was gonna turn out, so if he did this on purpose (as opposed to simply forgetting to enter or something), I think that was a miscalculation on his part.

Sorry yes of course its because of his ranking...dont know what i was thinking :rolleyes: Agree with him probably not guessing how well his clay court season would go...very negative thinking though on his part. Get well Ivo! :)

idolwatcher1
06-10-2006, 08:09 PM
i saw the last few games of this, and Ivo was putting ice on his left knee. His last couple of service games (which he lost) he was moving very badly - serving and staying back...
wally, thanks for this info! I was curious too.

How often are you going to be at Queens this next week?

gusman890
06-10-2006, 08:11 PM
will he get one of those SE spots?

gusman890
06-10-2006, 08:11 PM
will he get one of those SE spots? or a LL?

Trivial
06-10-2006, 08:13 PM
He wont be getting a lucky loser spot...i presume...as he lost in the first round of qualifying, surely that will go to one of those who lost in the final round of qualifying.

Deboogle!.
06-10-2006, 09:38 PM
Special exemption are only for people who make the semis the week before and thus can't play qualifying. Say, for example, Benneteau had made the RG semi, and wanted to play Queens. He could have gotten in with a Special Exemption.

There are more rules within that, which tourneys can give SEs to which, etc., but the short answer is no, he couldn't have gotten an SE.

And Trivial is quite right where the Lucky Loser spots are concerned