My tip of the day: Don't throw your racquet during a match [Archive] - MensTennisForums.com

My tip of the day: Don't throw your racquet during a match

Paialii
04-11-2005, 12:35 AM
:rolleyes:

I started a clay court tournament on Friday and today was the "semifinals." I breezed through the first four rounds only dropping 3 games and I was playing the so-called number one girls player in the region.

I was up, 6-1, 4-0 and on serve. I hadn't dropped serve yet at all during the tournament, and during this service game I double faulted twice, netted a backhand and hit a forehand long to give her the easy break. After sailing the forehand I simply "bounced" my racquet. I didn't THROW it, it wasn't loud, and it didn't crack, I bounced it and then picked it up.

The "head tournament guy" walks over and tells me I'm disqualified for racquet abuse. No warning, no nothing. He said when we signed up for the tournament we agreed not to let, his quote, "the racquet hit the ground." They have zero tolerance for it, apparently.

So I was disqualified just like that. I couldn't just leave it at that, so while walking off I finished the job by actually cracking the racquet (on the bench) and then slid it on the ground in his direction. Shouted "You can keep it" and then left.

Daddy-o wasn't too happy.

So, my advice: Don't throw or bounce your racquet. I probably wouldn't have bounced it had I not been playing on clay. I hate tennis, I'm quitting. ;) :p

jole
04-11-2005, 01:19 AM
You got screwed big time, but you know that. Sorry.

Kristen
04-11-2005, 02:16 AM
Good on you!
LMAO I love that attitude right at the end :)
When I'm allowed to good-rep again... you'll be getting some points! :yeah:

jason8ooo
04-11-2005, 02:20 AM
Ouch that really sucks.

But I do like the attitude you gave at the end :)

NATAS81
04-11-2005, 02:21 AM
You can have it say "Disqualified for Racquet Abuse" under your name on these forums if you want.

ugotlobbed
04-11-2005, 02:34 AM
:rolleyes:

I started a clay court tournament on Friday and today was the "semifinals." I breezed through the first four rounds only dropping 3 games and I was playing the so-called number one girls player in the region.

I was up, 6-1, 4-0 and on serve. I hadn't dropped serve yet at all during the tournament, and during this service game I double faulted twice, netted a backhand and hit a forehand long to give her the easy break. After sailing the forehand I simply "bounced" my racquet. I didn't THROW it, it wasn't loud, and it didn't crack, I bounced it and then picked it up.

The "head tournament guy" walks over and tells me I'm disqualified for racquet abuse. No warning, no nothing. He said when we signed up for the tournament we agreed not to let, his quote, "the racquet hit the ground." They have zero tolerance for it, apparently.

So I was disqualified just like that. I couldn't just leave it at that, so while walking off I finished the job by actually cracking the racquet (on the bench) and then slid it on the ground in his direction. Shouted "You can keep it" and then left.

Daddy-o wasn't too happy.

So, my advice: Don't throw or bounce your racquet. I probably wouldn't have bounced it had I not been playing on clay. I hate tennis, I'm quitting. ;) :p


ur kidding right?

nkhera1
04-11-2005, 02:36 AM
What is your ranking?

joseluismb
04-11-2005, 03:14 AM
okay, u certainly arent quiting, are you?

Now... thats so %&$$ unfair!!!!!!! Tournament officials just LOVE to "protect" those top players.... God... now I'm pissed....

Scotso
04-11-2005, 04:02 AM
You should have cracked it on his head.

Auscon
04-11-2005, 04:06 AM
stuff that......that rule sucks

joseluismb
04-11-2005, 04:11 AM
No it doesnt, it's neccessary. But cmon she didn't even get a warning before... and she just bounced it... totally unfair...

You should, indeed, receive a warning if you throw it badly or crack it, and be expelled after a couple of warnings....

I guess you're from the US...why dont you send the USTA a letter?

Becarina
04-11-2005, 06:33 AM
You should have cracked it on his head.


my sentiments exactly...the a-hole ;)

FrogBurger
04-11-2005, 09:12 AM
Wooo, thats gotta suck. Well at least you tried.

syd
04-11-2005, 09:20 AM
So unfair !

Swider
04-11-2005, 04:29 PM
Hmm. how can it be that "head tournament guy" tells you you're disqualified? Is he also a referee?

tangerine_dream
04-11-2005, 04:41 PM
Throwing rackets is fun. Way to get in touch with your Safin/Roddick side, Paialii. :lol: :hatoff:

David Kenzie
04-11-2005, 05:22 PM
Surly it is against the rules of tennis to be disqualified without a good enough reason. And if the pros don't get disqualified for it then nobody should !!

David Kenzie
04-11-2005, 05:24 PM
Throwing rackets is fun. Way to get in touch with your Safin/Roddick side, Paialii. :lol: :hatoff:

Throughing raquets is very fun and it's fun to watch someone through his raquet ! It definately makes tennis more entertaining to watch :)

jacobhiggins
04-11-2005, 05:27 PM
I'm gonna sign up for a local tennis torunament in a couple of months, i'll keep that in mind :). I always think it's pretty entertaining to see people flip out like that, i've tried to fit that persona but it's just not me. I'm EXTREMLEY competitive don't get me wrong, but i'm the kind of person that can lose a very close game, and mintues later, could care less about it. Not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing lol? But if I was there, I would have been laughing my ass off!

Angle Queen
04-11-2005, 05:43 PM
At best, you should've got a warning and/or penalty points/games.

But I'm with ya on finishing it off after you'd been DQed. :yeah: